sat day 36


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
February 24th 2015
Published: February 24th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Before starting this blog about being back in kL I just wanted to mention a few more things about Singapore ( will she ever stop going on about it!!!)
The city is exceptionally clean, tidy, modern and well maintained. I did see a few notices regarding the fining such as moving a workman's bollard would set you back 500 dollars - about £250! And sitting, loitering or smoking in certain areas would also cost you about £30! How exactly they would endorse these fines is anyone's guess as I hardly saw any police. Lastly, the city can be a bit ott with health and safety issues such as - no one crosses a clear road until the green man tell them to - and signs telling you to mind a 2 inch high step!! Right, I'm done............

So, today started with a wander through hectic china town and out the other side to merdeka square where I thought I would catch the tube ( it was so easy in Singapore!# And its so difficult here!! Some trains are underground - some monorail - they are different colours on the notices to what they are on other signs! Maybe it would be easier if I spoke the language!? So, catching the monorail I made it to the Petronas towers - the tallest building in kL with a view point walkway connecting the 2 about half way up, which you could get tickets to - but where the ticket booth was, was anyone's guess! I asked a few people - one being someone who worked there and even they were unsure!
After getting a few photos I made it to Bukit bintang, an area slightly east of centre to meet up with my friend - Alicia # originally from kL but living and working in Singapore - but currently has 2wks a/l so was back with her family then off to Hong Kong to visit a friend# sitting by the monorail station a lovely Pakistanis man came up to me and we sat and chatted - sharing photos and stories for about an hour while I waited for Alicia. He took my name and said he would get in contact via facebook, he's living and working in Malaysia in structural engineering and was on holiday also. Alicia turned up and we said goodbye, we headed to a food hall opting for Chinese over a number of different cuisines. Sat and chatted for about 3hrs - was a lovely evening, I was walked back to the monorail station where we said our goodbyes. Met 2 lovely people - to hopefully stay in contact with # Alicia is fluent in Malaysian also remarked that the train system in kL is confusing - even for her!!!!.)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 21; dbt: 0.2162s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb