A Reunion in KL


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
December 2nd 2014
Published: January 21st 2015
Edit Blog Post

Group shot!Group shot!Group shot!

A pretty good looking bunch, if I don't say so myself.
When my high school friend said he was coming to KL for a few days I knew I had to make the trip to see him. My original plan was that I'd be on a road trip and KL would be a stop. But since my passport was at immigration getting shiny, new visa stickers put into it, a day trip was all I could do--no hotels for me!

I took the bus rather than drive. I wanted to have as much energy for time with my friend as possible. I didn't want to worry about getting tired, lost, or anything else. Plus, since I'd never been to KL, this actually allowed me to relax a bit more and just focus on the experience.

We met up at KLCC, or the Petronas towers. They're probably the most famous landmark in Malaysia. We were also joined by another friend who flew up from Singapore. I love making new friends!

We started our day taking photos at the towers. The weather was clear and sunny, the skies were bright blue. We couldn't have asked for more. And rain was scheduled for later in the day.

We hit the food
Decisions, decisionsDecisions, decisionsDecisions, decisions

Yes, I'm wearing two pairs, and looking at more. (Don't worry, I only bought one pair.)
court for lunch, feasting on a variety of foods. I was delighted to find a vegetarian stand where I got more food than I could reasonably eat for a very reasonable price. And then I ate all of it! We bonded over our shared loves of teaching and food.

Next up was the bookstore. It was huge. It was magnificent. I could have spent all day in there. So. many. English. language. books. With the help of my new friend from Singapore I bought a few books to learn Malay. There was only one book available in the Kuantan bookstore and it wasn't very good, so I was happy to have a variety to choose from. I was also grateful to have a Malay language teacher to help me!

My high school friend and I ventured off on our own to do some shopping while Mr Singapore went to meet some other friends of his. My friend had a list of things he needed, things he can't buy where he lives, and we made it our mission to find as many as possible. With a few fashion stops along the way. We both like being well dressed. And shopping with a friend is more fun than shopping online!

After we were exhausted and nearly out of money (him, not me!), we stopped for coffee. We had a great catch-up conversation, reminisced about high school, and cheers-ed to the fact that we've been friends for 20 years. Has it really been that long? Wasn't high school just five years ago? We're looking forward to 20 more.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.166s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 83; dbt: 0.0967s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb