On the Road


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Melaka » Melaka City
December 11th 2014
Published: January 25th 2015
Edit Blog Post

School's out and it's time for me to hit the road! In years past, I've always taken a few flights, buses, and other assorted forms of transportation to far flung places around Asia.

Not this year.

I decided to take a road trip--something I've wanted to do for well over a decade--and drive around western Malaysia. Western Malaysia wouldn't be affected by the floods or monsoon rains like the east coast, and besides, I have a car! Seems like I should put this opportunity to good use.

Once I received my passport back from immigration (with my shiny, new visa), I spent one day planning and booking hotels, looking up maps, and deciding what to pack. I think it's the shortest amount of time I've ever spent planning a trip. The plan was to start in Melaka and drive up the coast, then double back a bit and head home. Total trip time: two and a half weeks.



My first stop is Melaka. After arriving at my guest house and settling in, everyone there went to dinner together by bike. It was a great way to meet fellow travelers and the perfect start to my holiday.

I spent today wandering around town, taking photos and just getting the lay of the land. Melaka is a great city, with easily walkable tourist areas and lots of food for me to try. I'm definitely going to enjoy my time here.


Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Baba Nyonya LaksaBaba Nyonya Laksa
Baba Nyonya Laksa

My favorite food in Melaka
My Inner Pirate is excitedMy Inner Pirate is excited
My Inner Pirate is excited

But it's really a museum. An AIR CONDITIONED museum.


25th January 2015

love Melaka
I'm surprised you didn't take a pic of yourself striking a pose next to muscle man - everyone else does!
25th January 2015

Not my new boyfriend
I can't believe I didn't think to take that photo. Though, I was on my own and didn't have anyone to help.

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0227s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb