The Night Market


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Melaka » Melaka City
December 12th 2014
Published: January 28th 2015
Edit Blog Post

You find these at the end of the streetYou find these at the end of the streetYou find these at the end of the street

This was my favorite part.
Every weekend evening, Friday--Sunday, Jonker Street turns itself from a quaint, historic area into an area teeming with life. Every inch of space is used by hawkers, vendors, and shoppers. I tend to like night markets to I decided to check it out.

This night market is unlike others I've been to. It's probably the only one I've been to that isn't selling the same scarves (that I bought in Laos, Thailand, and Vietnam--because they're "unique!"), jewelry, or decorative paper lamps. It does, however, have a wide variety of clothing, toys, and my favorite, FOOD. (Okay, food at a night market isn't unusual.)

I wasn't looking to buy anything except dinner, so my friend and I went from table to table seeing what was available. Some of it I'd seen before, but most of it was Malaysian for sure, much of it Melakan. Lots of sweets and fried treats were available, as well as a few vegetarian items! I devoured my spring rolls PPPPP but decided that eating dinner in a proper restaurant was more to my liking. I wanted chairs, a table, something not fried, and a bathroom.

After stuffing ourselves, we walked to the end with one goal in mind--a bicycle rickshaw ride. These things are everywhere. They play music. They light up. They're covered in cartoon characters. Your inner 6 year old has the time of their life. The going rate is 40 MYR an hour and we decided that a shorter ride would be sufficient. I think I beamed the whole time--money well spent.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Ummm, well, thenUmmm, well, then
Ummm, well, then

This was a street over
Night lanternsNight lanterns
Night lanterns

I didn't expect them to actually work


Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0608s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb