SLEEPING IN A SHIPPING CONTAINER?


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
July 17th 2014
Published: July 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Capsule Hotel?Capsule Hotel?Capsule Hotel?

First glance it looks a bit like a coffee shop.
Hello all,

(Today is my birthday and I am in the Kuala Lumpur Airport waiting for my flight to Australia. I have a month to see a little of this large continent and my goal is to dive the Great Barrier Reef.)

Last night I spent a very restful six hours sleeping in a packing container. I am so happy to find this inexpensive way to get a good night’s sleep in the airport without crashing on a couple of uncomfortable chairs, or on the drafty floor. I usually space my flights several hours apart to ensure I have time to get to the gate when I transfer planes. In this case I took a seven o’clock p.m. flight to Kuala Lumpur because a later flight got me to the airport with only half an hour to make the transfer. Since my flight to Australia doesn’t leave until 3:30 p.m. the next day, I decided to treat myself to a hotel room. At the information counter the lady told me this hotel, Capsule by Container, was in the airport and catered to business men and back packers so I thought I would check it out.



It
My SpaceMy SpaceMy Space

I thought this looked very inviting, clean and cozy (this is after I spent the night, it was pristine when I first saw it).
certainly didn’t look like a hotel. It looked more like a gym from the outside. There were cubby holes with flip flops in them, and some metal mesh securing the area. Not too inviting. But when I checked in I discovered you could rent a bed for 3, 6, or 12 hours and the price included a towel, a shower and lockers for your luggage. Wi-fi is also included.



The manager showed me the accommodations; the cubicles are actually partitioned rooms in shipping containers just big enough for a small, narrow bed with a little floor space, maybe eight inches wide, to hold your essentials. There is a mirror folded into the wall, two fluffy pillows, a silky white duvet and a terrific new mattress. There is no door, only a mesh screen for privacy but I felt very secure. Because of the screen there is good ventilation, and the ceiling and wall by my head was painted a relaxing blue (or green?) and the walls were a light oak paneling, so it didn’t feel like a box. Since I was paying for only six hours I went straight to sleep and awakened a few minutes before
The LogoThe LogoThe Logo

Self explanatory, after a night's stay.
my wake up call.



There were three showers and four very clean toilets, a long vanity and a full length mirror near the shower. The shower was hot and had terrific pressure. Very budget conscious, I paid $20 for six hours of bliss. I will certainly look for these hotels in other airports when I have lengthy layovers.



You can also rent the luggage lockers, or take a shower, if desired, without renting a “room”.



I am a happy camper.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0218s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb