In Transit


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Wilayah Persekutuan » Kuala Lumpur
January 13th 2006
Published: January 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Petronas TowersPetronas TowersPetronas Towers

I think this conveys the height of these incredible towers in Kuala Lumpur.
So there I was... an East Coaster in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia... sitting at the airport after being in transit for almost 20 hours. I would have passed out had I just sat there, so I did what I told Trevor I would do, I journeyed to the Petronas Towers. Now, that comes across as nothing big, but in a city that size, with two huge carry-on bags, and 3 hours sleep - it was a challenge. FYI - most Malaysians speak English.

First I took the KLI Ekspres (super fast train) through the country side... that place is wonderful, palm trees as far as the eyes can see, all kinds of exotic birds, and I even spotted some kind of water buffalo grazing across a stream. I can't be sure if that's what it was, we were travelling at well over 150km per hour. Either way, once arriving at KL Sentral, I caught the PUTRA (local train and I stuck out like a sore thumb) directly to the base of the Petronas Towers, and managed to take a great photograph of my nostrils with the towers as a backdrop.

On my way back, I was buying my bus ticket
Palm TreesPalm TreesPalm Trees

Downtown KL with the towers behind me.
in the terminal where I spotted a guard with a machine gun doing his rounds. I need to mention that the penalty for posessing drugs in Malaysia is Death, and I'm pretty sure that they mean it.

I stopped at a restaurant called "Chicken and Rice" where I had noodles and brocolli, and had a slight problem when it came to paying. They wanted 13,000RM (Aprox. $4 CAN), but I only had 11,000RM. I sadly had to walk next door to the money changers, and cashed in my last 5 Canadian Dollars. Truthfully, I was still worried about the security guard from around the corner.

There and back took me about 2 hours and all in all, I had an incredible time in Malaysia (plus I have the passport stamps to prove it). Next stop - Ho Chi Minh City!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

LunchLunch
Lunch

My relatively cheap 'first meal' in Southeast Asia. It was even pretty good tasting.
From AboveFrom Above
From Above

Kuala Lumpur from the window of the airplane at sunrise.


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0268s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb