Speachless


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
January 13th 2006
Published: January 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

For those of you who know me, you will agree that I am not often at a loss for words. Today, I am struggling to speak. This place has changed me already. Ho Chi Minh City is an unbelievable, intense, terrifying, breathtaking and peaceful place - all at once.

I arrived yesterday afternoon and was met at the airport by my boss - Andrew and I had my first experience on the roads of Ho Chi Minh City. (More in a minute). We made our way to the clinic "Maple Healthcare" where I met my new co-workers before Andrew and I went out for some Pho (noodle soup) via the back of his motorbike. Now... was an experience. Driving here seems to make no sence at all. There are thounsands of millions of motorbikes on the roads. People travel seemingly all over the place - and it looks terrifying (no pictures yet... I'm too enthralled) but it makes perfect sence. There is NO road rage, and I've already been in one 'fender bender' we'd call it back home. This morning on my way to work a woman spilled her limes and they went all over the road and everyone broke quickly. We couldn't stop in time, so we ran into the woman in front of us. No harm, no one seems to drive fast enough for major injury.

I made it to my friend's house by 8PM and was asleep by 10PM. I woke up this morning sore after 9 hours of sleep, to the unmistakable smell of eggs. The smell loitered in my nostrils for about 1/2 hour before being replaced by the smell of the city (which is a mix between exhaust and the incredible food). I spotted an orange cat sleeping peacefully on the roof of the neighbour's house, amid the morning's clatter of people heading to work, praying (loudly), food being cooked and days starting.

Then I went down to the market; it really is cheap to eat here. I bought peanut butter, crackers, sesame snacks, yoghurt, orange juice and mango juice all for just 50,000VND (Aprox. $2.30 Canadian) and ate it on the roof in 30 degree heat. Oh, everything they say about the weather here (HOT, STICKY, HUMID - is true. Very true).

For some reason I can't upload pictures right now... but I'll keep working on it, and will have many more to send soon.

That's it for now, but take care.
Lots of Love.
Alisa

Advertisement



14th January 2006

Titles are hard
I knew you'd love it, can't wait to see those pictures. Remember to say out of "the shit", where ever "the shit" actually is.
21st January 2006

brilliant
I am thoroughly evjoying your portrayal of your experience, i feel almost as if i was there myself! Glad you're having a changing experience and i wish you the best of all life has to offer. lots o love Karine
21st January 2006

trying to figure out how this thing works!
Hi! Hope your having fun!
23rd January 2006

Tap Dancin' !!
G-force !! Loved the nostril shot--I know Petronas--they sponsor motorcycle racers Not sure what they do or make or build--but if they spend mony on racin'...they're fine folk by me. I've read--in motorcycle magazines--that Vietnamese traffic is outrageous. Mayhem. And dangerous--keep yer head up !! And careful who you give the finger to eh !! HA !! Do they have Denny's there ? Do folks eat bacon ? Anyhow--you amze and inspire me. What a spirit of adventure and good-will...I presume this company you're working for is doing wonderful things for people. As always... GIVE 'ER !!!!!! pt

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb