Finally, some pictures...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
January 23rd 2006
Published: January 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The RoadsThe RoadsThe Roads

An average street corner in Saigon. And when you cross, you just walk head first right into it. I think it's about 100 ppl. per day who die on the roads in Vietnam. (don't worry Mom, foreigners are forbidden to drive)
Election day in Canada is starting... and I'm about to head home from work for the day. Glad I already voted, because I think finding a polling station here might be abit of a challenge.

I have been having a fantastic time so far, and I apologise for my tardiness in posting pictures, but it's just been really busy at work - then really hectic in the evenings - then this past weekend was spent on about a 20km stretch of white sandy beach in Mui Nei. I was sunburnt - yes - but it was worth it. You should have seen this place... it almost took my breath away.

I want to thank everyone for their encouraging comments to my blog. It's been less than 2 weeks here, and it feels like a month. Saigon time is intangible for sure. I've been trying to come up with the right words to describe it, but you have to just experience it for yourself.

As quoted to my far away cousin...

It's hot here, and apparently it's going to get alot worse. I'm trying to get used to it, but it's hotter than hell. I swear, you don't
Work Party for TetWork Party for TetWork Party for Tet

When I first arrived they threw a party for me/for Tet. This is the whole team from Maple Healthcare.
just sweat... everything sweats. You sweat from places you never thought you could sweat from. Like your eyelids. Did you realize that your eyelids actually have sweat glands? I didn't know this, but BELIEVE me... they do.

And it's loud here - constantly, and I'm supposed to get used to that too, so they say... but I'm not sure who they are, and if they've ever been here. For a valley girl from Morden, Nova Scotia - this is quite a shock for my little eardrums. There is almost a steady 'hum' of noise, but you'd be amazed at how quickly you look for the familiarity within the chaos.

There is a woman who walks along the street behind my house every morning at 7:25AM singing at the top of her lungs. Actually, let me re-phrase. She's actually yelling at the top of her lungs and it's either something about the garbage or she's selling bread. I'm not really sure. My vietnamese is still in progress, but my german is getting much better! It's truly a cultural melting pot here - and I keep meeting new people from new places... all here for different reasons and most who
The BeachThe BeachThe Beach

Kite surfers all along the beach in Mui Nei.
I will never see again.

There are wonderful things about this place... the people are great. The food is delicious. The place is vibrant and hectic, but also quiet and peaceful. It's wierd, but great. Who would have thought that in the hottest place I've ever lived, I would try bikram yoga (hot room yoga), or join a women's social group's book club (ILV - International Ladies of Vietnam) Last Sunday night I had home cooked "authentic german food" with "real authentic germans" and a brit named Marc in the middle of downtown Saigon, and then on Saturday night in Mui Nei we ate fresh outta the sea (and trust me, it tasted fantastic) Red Snapper, Prawns and Tuna fillets. Mmmmmmmmmmmm...

So I'll leave for a bowl of pho (vietnamese noodle soup) with this to say... wherever you are in this wide and wonderful world... enjoy it... not just because you're there, but because there is beauty all around us - we just have to open our eyes. Besides, you might as well enjoy yourself. You never know when you'll be back.

Lots of Love - Alisa


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

PartyingPartying
Partying

Believe it or not... the beer here starts at 20,000 VND. That's about $1.20usd ~ it's awesome. This is Martina and I (one of my three roomates).
Pool in Mui NeiPool in Mui Nei
Pool in Mui Nei

Me making new Vietnamese friends, playing Vietnamese pool, Vietnamese style... it is different - but fun.
The park across from my workThe park across from my work
The park across from my work

This is where I have my morning Cafe Sua Da and enjoy some peace and quiet.
More BeautyMore Beauty
More Beauty

More flowers...
Serenity in ChaosSerenity in Chaos
Serenity in Chaos

This is the cat that lives near me. He's here every morning.
TouristTourist
Tourist

It's fantastic at night... this is downtown in District 1.
The BeautyThe Beauty
The Beauty

These are everywhere in this country... it's so chaotic and hectic, but this makes you stop and stand still.
The ChaosThe Chaos
The Chaos

Speaking of Chaos... this is one of many big insterections near my home. I call this picture... Saigon At Sunset.
Sandra & ISandra & I
Sandra & I

Another party shot of my other roomate. I swear up and down that this is the only time I was out partying. Okay, maybe not.


30th January 2006

Having Fun Yet?
Hey dude....looks like you're having a ball. Any english language radio stations there for me to work at?? Keep on blogging!!! Peter
2nd February 2006

Sweaty!!!
I knew eyelids had sweat glands....HA. Love the photos of traffic and the streets. Cannot imagine it being that crowded anywhere....cannot imagine how sweaty I'd be there. Lovin' the blog !!! And as always---Give 'er !!!

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0819s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb