Post Vacation Ramblings...


Advertisement
Vietnam's flag
Asia » Vietnam » Southeast » Ho Chi Minh City
February 6th 2006
Published: February 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

So it's the first day back to work after Tet holiday. Last night I took a bus from Nha Trang to Saigon. It was supposed to be an 10 hour bus, so when we left at 8PM, we should have arrived at 6AM... but we were actually early so it was only 8 hours of cramped, uncomfortable, hot sweaty sleeping on a bus. Oh well, it only cost 180,000 vnd (or $13.84can) so I shouldn't really complain. Besides, I was able to sleep which is more than I can say for my german travelling companion.

What was I doing taking an 8 hour bus and arriving the morning of my first day back to work? Well, that's just what people here do. They stretch their vacations out as long as possible... and believe me, it's worth it.

Next blog - pictures - I promise. I took tons during my 5 day beach holiday. I also finished my PADI Open Water Diver certification, which is amazing. Between beaching and diving, I also took the time to perfect my tan and eating fresh seafood (the freshest I've ever tasted). I am actually planning to head back up there to take an underwater photography course, and post some underwater pics... that'll kick this blog up a notch.

Met a ton of Canadians on my beach vacation too. Well, a ton being 8 canadians. (What can you expect from a country with a population of 30 million). Took pictures of them all and am adding them to my photography collections of "Canadians Around The World"... published circa 2010. It might not attract as much of a cult following as "Corner Gas" but it'll be fun anyways. The most prominent group of travellers I've found are Germans. They seem to be EVERYWHERE! It seems they're trying to take over the world... but everytime I suggest that, one of my roomates kicks me under the table. ?? I don't know, they seem to be somewhat sensitive to that suggestion. I can't imagine why.

So, I REALLY love it here. I am having the time of my life. Have I mentioned that yet? It's amazing what you make time for when you're so far away from everyone you love and everything comfortable. Since I have so much time, and need to make time for myself, I find myself doing exclusively things that I just LOVE to do. Playing lots of pool, 9 ball, 8 ball, walking in the many parks, riding on motorbikes, writing, drawing, tanning on my rooftop terrace at home, meeting and partying with fantastic people.

Oh my gawd, I had the strangest experiences last night on the bus ride back home. See, everytime anyone on the bus wanted to stop to pee or have a smoke break or grab a midnight snack... the bus would come grinding to a halt. Most of the time I slept through them, but three times I woke up slightly... very disoriented and each time I thought I was back in Nova Scotia, waking up to a familiar green hightway sign - exit #16 to Aylesford.

I'm not sure, but some form of culture shock may be starting to manifest itself in my subconscious. Who knows, maybe some twisted part of me misses the frigid winter back home too.

Either way, I really am enjoying it here... +35 or something stupid today, with high humidity as usual, and delicious pho.

Advertisement



10th February 2006

finally tuning in.....
hey alisa, i've got up with you....holy cow you've been busy. sounds like your really likin' it there. we're covered in snow here in ottawa - winterlude in full swing. keep those great photos and blogs coming. take care chicky - ttyl.
17th February 2006

Wow life changes fast
Okay so I arrive back from my jaunt to the South Pacific for 2 months to find that you have taken off and are now in Vietnam... How cool is that. It sounds like you are having an experience of a life time. this short got to go to work now.. will post to you again soon.. K

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb