We do this for fun!??


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah
April 6th 2005
Published: April 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Mt Kinabulu 5:30amMt Kinabulu 5:30amMt Kinabulu 5:30am

In your face Mount Fuji!
It's 1:30am and I'm holding a dialogue with myself (lack of oxygen does that you know) about why this really is "fun". It's interesting experiencing the breathlessness and rapid heart rate resulting from the thinner atmosphere up here at 3300m.
Down for breakfast at 2am started climbing around 3am, in the pitch black, for the summit at 4095m . Climbing up got a bit weird a times as I'd passed a few people and ended up totally alone at times. Looking back down into the dark from time to time I could see a sprinkling of torch lights making thier way slowly up the mountain. Up ahead even fewer which was a bit disheartening at times as I was looking for a frame of reference/indication as to how much further I had to go.
I arrived "suddenly" at around 5:20am - still pitch black - and had someone take the obligatory picture. Did I mention it's cold up there?

Started down after sunrise - well worth the wait - around 7am. Looking back up on the way down I was pleased that I'd climbed in the dark. looking back up I saw that the climb was steepr than I thought.
View of South Peak - Mt KinabuluView of South Peak - Mt KinabuluView of South Peak - Mt Kinabulu

Doh!Forgot the roller blades.
Another interesting effect of being at this altitude - hands were swollen, got pins and needles in my fingers and my thumb was turning black (didnt bring gloves).

Got down to the bottom around 2:30pm



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb