Pitcher plants


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Kota Kinabalu
April 5th 2005
Published: April 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Up at 6:30am after around 3 and a half hours sleep - this was not a good idea as I find out later. No breakfast - also a bad idea.

About halfway to the overnight stop at Laban Rata I'm utterly f#$^*d through lack of sleep and get two really bad bouts of the runs - the first time I have plenty of warning and get to a toilet...however the second time there's no warning and I have to charge off into the bush noting some amazing specimens of the giant pitcher plants that grow up here as I go. Just before I relieve myself I'm praying that there's not some exotic insect, snake or whatever around to take a bite of my arse - there wasn't.

By the time I reached my room I felt drunk from lack of oxygen (3300m) and sleep and was still feeling a bit nauseous - straight to bed for a couple of hours dozed up on diareze (you never know).Up for some noodles then back to bed for the "final assault" at around 3am.

It's cold up here and I slept with every layer I had plus two blankets and was
Nearly there - Really!?Nearly there - Really!?Nearly there - Really!?

On the way up to hut Laban Rata
still cold...couldn't get enough air breathing through my nose so ended up sleeping with my mouth open - heart rates going crazy too..interesting.

THIS..puts a whole new perspective on Everest..

We'd started climbing around 10 and got to the hut about 4ish ~ 6 hours.

Who said this was fun?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0394s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb