Travel to Sepilok Nature Resort


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Sepilok Orang Utan Sanctuary
October 22nd 2015
Published: October 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

Today I said a very sad farewell to Eric and left Kuching, he's been SO good for the last week and I'll really miss him. Most of my day has been spent either on a plane or in an airport.

I caught my first flight from Kuching to Kota Kinabalu and then a connecting flight from there to Sandakan. When I got to the gate at Sandakan and saw the plane it filled me with dread! For anyone that knows me, you know I hate flying and little planes are my worst nightmare - but in actual fact, the flight itself wasn't too bad and thankfully only took around 40 minutes.

I was collected at the airport by my driver and was taken to my hotel for the next two nights - Sepilok Nature Resort. My main reason for visiting here is to see the orangutan in the rehabilitation centre. I'm an avid follower of Meet the Orangutans on animal planet and I'm so excited to visit the day after tomorrow.

The resort itself sits on the edge of a rainforest so the humidity is a bit of a killer even at this time (6pm). I have a great room a little walk from the main reception building. It's relatively basic, but quite nice. I made my way down to the bar and got myself sorted for the rest of the day with a bottle of beer and free wifi connection!

Tomorrow I have a free day to do what I want, my plan at the moment is to go to the rainforest discovery centre and maybe to see the sun bears too, but, I'll see how my day pans out. For now, I've covered myself in bug spray and I'm going to enjoy a couple of beers listening to the sounds of the rainforest and enjoying the view from the bar.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb