The culinary delights of Sandakan


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Sabah » Sandakan
February 6th 2013
Published: February 6th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have smiled so much in the last three days that my cheeks are aching.

Tonight I sampled some more of the local cuisine - mainly seafood!

On recommendation I visited Sim Sim floating seafood restaurant, surrounded by houses on stilts - the left restaurant. At the restaurant entrance I was met with so many boxes, each with fresh seafood, it seemed as though it might be impossible to choose. It was very simple - just look and pick what you fancy. I opted for white clams with ginger and spring onion and Kloap Sotong ( roughly translated as squid in soya sauce and chilli) - turned out to be the speciality of the house.

It was some of the freshest seafood I have tasted in a very long time.

Following my meal I met the cook, who was clearly very proud of her establishment. Not sure I completely understood, but got the general gist. In essence I think she was telling me I'd picked the best of the two restaurants, backing it up with framed memorabilia (photos and newspaper clippings) including the Sandakan special! I must say from what I researched before coming (or should I say Becky researched) and on tonight's tastings I am inclined to agree with her wholeheartedly.

Whilst waiting for what now seems to have become my own personal taxi driver, Ahmed, whilst in Sandakan, three local men showed me how to peel and eat some lychees fresh from their stalls. I was rather glad when Ahmed arrived. There are only so many lychees one can eat!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Squid with chilli and soya sauceSquid with chilli and soya sauce
Squid with chilli and soya sauce

Speciality of the house
The chefThe chef
The chef

Clearly very proud of her establishment


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0494s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb