Gili Islands, Singapore and Cameron Highlands


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Cameron Highlands
June 28th 2011
Published: June 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hi Everybody,

Goodness me, Warany just pointed out that I have not done a blog for almost 2 weeks, completely didn't even realise! Sorry it might be a long one as I have been doing loads...But at the same time, we literally did nothing for a week on the Gili islands so not much to report there...

So we spent 9 night on the Gili Islands in the end. It was so relaxing and the weather was so nice we basically couldn't be bothered to move for the whole week. We didn't go on a snorkeling trip that we were going to do either, which is a bit of a bummer, but apart from that it was amazing. I have put loads of pics on facebook, I will upload so more onto this blog at some point. The beach was golden sand and the water was clear. We ate out every night, the food was amazing, whether it was pizza, bbq (fish and meat) it was amazing. We went out a couple of nights but spent most of the time playing cards at night. One day we walked round the whole island, only took just over an hour. We also watched the sunset one night which was awesome. I read about 5 books aswell, really got back into my reading, so thats good. Also got a nice tan coming along, so thats all good. Apart from that, that's pretty much all we did. I won't go into any other details! Its definitely the most I have ever relaxed at any point... So we left the Gili Islands on the 23rd June, so that will be last Thursday...

We got up at 7:30 am and traveled back to Bali. Journey was very long and took 12 hours, we had to take 1 boat, 1 bus, then a ferry then another bus...Got to Bali and we were going to get haircuts and stuff, but in the end we had no time as we wanted to get out for the tennis. We met 2 girls on the bus and ended up staying in the room next to them, with a swimming pool, was mint and well cheap. Wish we would of stayed there last time. We had a swim and then went for dinner as we were starving. We ended up having a few drinks and going out for the evening with the girls...

On the Friday, we got up about 9:30 am, well James didn't as he had not been to bed, I am now sensible and was asleep by 2...haha. We got a taxi to the airport and then flew to Singapore. On the plane I got stitched up and sat at the back, Zac and James were at the front. I took the time to write my Cambodia post cards, from 6 weeks before, haha, kept putting it off. We landed in Singapore and got a taxi to the hostel. We chilled out for a bit and then had a walk around. We went and saw the Raffles hotel where the Singapore sling cocktail was made, Im not joking, this hotel is the poshest place I have ever seen in my whole life...! We then went back and got ready to go out, as it was our last night together, as the boys were off to New Zeland in the morning, (or were they, see later!). We went out with 25 people from the hostel for dinner at the night market, food was amazing and we ate loads. We then walked to the front of the Key and watched a laser show off of the sky scrapers. The guy from our hostel then told us how we could get to the top of one of the sky scrapers, its 3 towers with a massive boat along the top. We walked all the way over to it and managed to blag it up to the top and got some well good photos and a fabulous view. We then went and hit the bars of Clark Key and had a few beers, I don't know if anybody has ever been to Singapore, but the price of beer is a joke. A pint is 8 quid...! We ended up watching the tennis and having a low key night, as Zac and James were kanckered, so we hit the sack...!

On the Saturday, I booked another night as wanted a chilled day, had to go into the hostel upstairs as the Rucksack Inn where we were was full. Both hostels were amazing by the way, really really nice...I went and Investigated booking a bus to come up to Malaysia, which is where I am now. I texted the boys and they were at Singapore cricket club watching the Singapore Soccer Sixes. I walked down and met them, the special guest was Andy Cole. I managed to track him down in the melay that surrounded him and got a photo and his autograph. We watched some of the footy and then went back. I said by to the boys, was sad to say bye as we have had such an amazing time...Then I got ready as I was going out with a girl for the night that I had met on Ko Samui...bit of a date, haha...Then James texted me, there flight was cancelled and they were in the ritz until Monday...! I though Raffles was posh, but wait till I saw them in there! Anyway, headed out on the tube to a place called Holland Park where I was meeting Harriet, went for some food and had a couple of drinks, then we got a cab back into Singapore and went out for a bit! Good night...

On Sunday I went and booked my bus to the Cameron Highlands in Malaysia. After that I went and watched the semi finals and finals of the football tournament. Zac and James joined me, we saw Andy Cole again and Paul Parker and got some more photos and photographs. We then went and found the street market again and got some food. I then went and got my bag and hiked it about a mile to the Ritz and had a look at there room. I actually can't believe the airline put them in there, $400 a night. It was a totally amazing hotel and their room was huge. We watched the start of the grand prix, I took some photos so their mates from home would be jealous and then we said our goodbyes for the 2nd time and I hiked another mile through the humid heat of Singapore to get my night bus. Crossed the border and about 11pm and got a bit of kip. I was supposed to be getting dropped at a place called Tapah, but the driver told me I could get my connecting bus from somewhere else. I got dropped there at 5am and then found I was in the wrong place, cheers mate. Luckily some nice Malaysian man gave me a lift to the right bus stop. He had been on my bus in Singapore, coaching Malaysia U18 at hockey, so we had some nice chat. I then waited 2 hours for my bus to the Cameron Highlands at 8am, got on the bus and passed out...! All because I wanted to travel cheaply and save a tenner, bit stupid really as its basically the price of a pint...! Anyway got there ok...

So yesterday I arrived at the Cameron Highlands and spent the day chilling. Got my haircut, chilled in Starbucks, had a siesta, got some dinner, watched Andy Muarry, and booked a tour for today to the rain forest and the tea plantations...!

So today I have been to the rainforest for a 3 hour jungle trek. Amazing, we were in a army vehicle and the roads were savage, the 4x4 and I mean proper 4x4 behind us almost didn't make it and almost tipped over a couple of times! When we got to the top of this hardcore track, we trekked it through the rainforest for about 1.5 hours. We saw loads of wildlife and a sacred flower, was amazing...We saw waterfalls loads of bamboo and it was proper quality. And I totally fell in love with this French girl who was in my group, I might propose to her later and hopefully she will say yes... :-) I will let you know. haha!

After we got back from the sacred flower, after about 3 hours we drove back down the horrendous track and then went to the tea plantation. We got a tour around and saw how tea was made, I took loads of photo's today, so when I get back to Singapore I will whack a load on this blog, so look out for them...I then got a cup of tea, was amazing and well nice...then we went to a butterfly farm and saw loads of butterfly's funnily enough. There were snakes, spiders and all sorts so we had a wander around. Then we went to a strawberry plantation, which was a bit random as there are 2 huge ones in Crowthorne at home, so I thought it was quite funny that everybody was taking photos of strawberry's e.t.c...

Anyway, I have just literally got back, so Im going to go shower as I am covered in mud, as you would expect. Im off to the Perinthian Islands tomorrow, for 3 days which is going to be sweet...I have just found out the french girl and her mates are also going, as she is on the computer next to me! Then i'm going back to Singapore as love it so much, for 3 days before I fly to Oz...Its such an amazing city, so clean, skyscrapers, just a really good vibe...

Hope everybody is good...

Speak soon

Luke x x x


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.166s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb