Time Tunnel Museum, Cameron Highlands 金马仑时光隧道 (Sep 2014)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Cameron Highlands » Brinchang
September 19th 2014
Published: October 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Friday, 19th September 2014

My visit to the Time Tunnel Museum was part of the one day tour that I had signed up which also covered a few other places in the highlands. This was an excellent museum dedicated to our past located halfway between the town of Brinchang and the Boh Tea Plantations.

The museum charged a modest admission of RM5 and there were no other charges on the use of photography equipment. This was money well-spent given its sheer display of exhibits and artefacts from yesteryears.

My visit to the Time Tunnel was timely, as it evoked plenty of fond memories of my childhood that I was once familiar with. Artefacts such as the Dumex milk powder and the soft drinks that we drank as kids as well as the many hours we spent glued to our Nintendo handheld games formed part of my collective memories of the 1980s.

On the local front, there was even a corner dedicated to the disappearance of Mr Jim Thompson in the highlands in 1967. Much to my delight, I even chanced upon a LP cover of the Carpenters Live in Budokan Tour in Japan in 1974. This was where I took inspiration to name this blog when I first started it back in 2005.

I had so much fun and spent so much time reliving through the memories that I felt bad that the rest of the tour mates were waiting for me. I would love to spend more moments at the museum if only time was on my side. Very soon, we were herded to our next destination - the drawback of joining an organised tour.

If I had to name my #1 must-see attraction in Cameron Highlands, the Time Tunnel would certainly top my bucket list of places to visit. History buffs should plan to dedicate at least a good 3 hours going through the awesome displays one by one.

I'm very glad to grow up in the 1980s and memories like this certainly helped to keep my past very much alive!


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0522s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb