The Cameron Highlands Countryside Tour (Sep 2014)


Advertisement
Malaysia's flag
Asia » Malaysia » Pahang » Cameron Highlands » Brinchang
September 19th 2014
Published: October 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Friday, 19th September 2014

I signed up for a day tour through my guesthouse to cover a couple of places around the Cameron countryside.

As it was raining the night before, I was praying hard that the rains would not repeat itself as we drove towards the highest point on the highlands, the Gunung Brinchang (2,032m).

Along the way, our rover paused for a photo-taking break at the Boh Tea Plantations where the guide gave a brief introduction of the tea harvesting processes. I loved tea plantations as it gave a peaceful outlook against the backdrop of rolling hills in the countryside.

The scenary was featured again and again in the travel literature that I came across while researching for this trip. It was nice to picture myself within the wide green expanse against the clear blue skies. Apparently, this had a liberating effect on me.

In comparison, the mossy forest walk at Gunung Brinchang wasn't as engaging that I had envisioned. While the knowledgeable guide was quick to point out the many interesting plants that we encountered along the trek, this was probably not in my area of interest even though my body was quite thankful for the healthy morning workout.

At the end of the trek, I was rewarded with a nice tea break at the Boh Tea House which commanded an unrivalled view of the plantations 😊

In the afternoon, our tour included stopovers at the Butterfly and Strawberry farms at Raaju's Hill. The big, juicy and succulent strawberries were certainly not to be missed as they were the pride of the highlands. Of course, the highlight for my afternoon was a visit to the Time Tunnel Museum which was elaborated in my previous entry.

All in all, the countryside tour offered a great introduction of the highlands which I thoroughly enjoyed. My brief visit to the Cameron Highlands was probably one of the best travel decisions that I made in 2014. It offered a glimpse of countryside living against the cool climate as I prepared for my descend to the city of Kuala Lumpur the following day!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.343s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 85; dbt: 0.2404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb