Wats and the Royal Ballet Theater


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
January 21st 2011
Published: March 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I tried to sleep late today and enjoy my cloud-bed, but the obnoxious neighbors woke me early. Sally and I got breakfast at a restaurant up the street a bit. I am now hooked on fried eggs on baguette with chili sauce. Then we went in search of a new hotel. We found one closer to town (right next to where we ate) and at less than half what we were paying. I can give up my cloud for that.

I went to the palace to buy theater tickets for tonight and then to the eastern part of the city along the Mekong to see the wats. I saw so many I lost count. Each was special in its own way, full of character and life. Some were masterfully restored and one was in need of work but not short on love. It was a relaxing way to spend an an afternoon. I stopped at a cafe along the river to read my rented book and sip a coconut shake. Colin joined me and we chatted and read. We watched a woman cut a papaya out of a tree using a long stick with a blade at the end. Then she propped the long stick up next to the tree and went back to work.

I returned to my new lodging, cleaned up, and ran to the Royal Ballet Theater. The performance was amazing. There were three traditional dances and one traditional play, all set to traditional music. It was a wonderful cultural experience.

Everyone met for dinner along the river. The food wasn't great, but the atmosphere was nice. Then we went back to the night market for shopping and snacks. Not surprisingly, we found pastries and each bought more than one.




Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Drying in the sunDrying in the sun
Drying in the sun

No, I don't know what they are.


Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0501s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb