The View from the Top


Advertisement
Laos' flag
Asia » Laos » West » Luang Prabang
January 20th 2011
Published: March 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: The View 15 secs
One of the most significant landmarks in town is Mount Phu Si. Located across from the palace, off the main road, in the center of town, it can be seen from all directions. At night, it is lit up and seems to glow and float, like magic.

I climbed the 190 steps up to the wat (the sign says there are only 138 going down--I don't get the math), bracing myself for the potential crowds. Luckily there were few people. I nearly had the place to myself. And what a view! 360 degrees of beauty and majesty. I could see both rivers and mountains and almost all of the city! I could see into wats and watch monks running to and fro from one building to the next, one wat to the next.

Even though I'd heard that the sunset is spectacular, I decided against waiting to see it. With an hour to go, it was just too long to wait. The thought of going down the 138 steps in the dark didn't sit well with me either. Instead I made my way down, back into town, memories etched in my mind.



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb