Big Change Next Week


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tottori » Tottori
February 9th 2007
Published: February 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Konan Chugakko Sannensei classKonan Chugakko Sannensei classKonan Chugakko Sannensei class

I'm gonna miss my kids!!! The boy with his head down next to me is the one who always says "It's beautiful" to me. He was so shy taking this picture!
I am switching to the big school next week. Of course there are pros and cons to this situation. I will definitely miss the school where I am now because I've gotten closer to the students and the teachers here. I'm not as lost in the mix as I am at the bigger school. I can actually joke with the teachers and they are even more willing to speak to me in English. Overall it's just a more laid back atmosphere. At the bigger school I am a lot more shy...if you can imagine that, mostly because I don't feel comfortable enough to talk to all the teachers there.

BUT, I do get more work at the bigger school and more variety in the activities I can do. Teachers are more open to new games and ideas. Days go by a lot faster because I'm busy, but then again I might not be so busy because we are almost to the end of the school year and I probably won't go to as many classes as I did before. The kids are also really cool, they actually talk to me on their own. I have to make more of an
Sannensei girls!Sannensei girls!Sannensei girls!

back row: Sachiko, Chinami, Yuri, Yuka, Chsato front row: Ayumi, me, Hana, Yukie
effort at the smaller school because kids are so shy. Also, the English teachers are pretty friendly. So, I guess it's hard to say which school I like better...

Today is my last day at Konan and I am feeling sad! The sannensei students are graduating and this is my last time to see them. Unless I can swing going to their graduation ceremony next month, that is. I had to give goodbye speeches this morning at the staff meeting for the teachers and at lunch for the students. I was really nervous because I was doing the speeches in Japanese! I had my advisor translate what I wanted to say, but it ended up being longer than I imagined. Of course, the teachers being super cool, they did the whole Nihongo jodze! Taguchi sensei even said that my Japanese was better than Japanese people (which I am sure he was just flattering me, thank goodness for Mayumi's translation and me practicing a few times last night and this morning). Two sannensei girls even gave me letters and a present (Kitty-chan stickers, these kids know me well). 5th period, I played badminton with them and that was really fun.
Sannensei boys!Sannensei boys!Sannensei boys!

back row: Yuki, Kei, Takuya, Kazuki, me front row: Hiroaki, Takaaki, Hiroyuki, Takafumi
The first two games, my team won. Yatta! Then the last game, Hana and I lost, but it was still fun. Aww, now I really don't want to switch schools! 😞


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

after playing badmintonafter playing badminton
after playing badminton

back row: me, Chsato, Yuka, Yuri, Chinami front row: Yukie, Ayumi, Hana


Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.038s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0886s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb