Naked Men!!!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okayama
February 22nd 2007
Published: February 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Last weekend I went to Okayama (prefecture South of Tottori) to watch a bunch of men in fundoshi run around fight to get these sacred sticks. It was raining the whole time and AJET (the organization of JETs who plan things in their prefectures) misunderstood the rules for the section we were going to be at and they told us we couldn't bring umbrellas! Of course, after the festival was over, we were soaked to the core. I managed to hide under some other people's umbrellas, but I was still cold and wet. Definitely helped that I wore my boots and an extra pair of leggings under my jeans. It was still fun though! There were rumors that members of the yakuza (mob) were in the festival and I had a sneaking suspicion that they were the men in the black fundoshi and arm bands. It looked really dangerous! I don't know why they do this, but I guess it's tradition?

I went with my friend, Annie, who is also a JET in Okayama and I went to college with her so it was nice to see her again! The last time we saw each other was in Hiroshima for the Sake Festival. We didn't feel like going out after the festival so we stayed with her friend's who live in Okayama City. The next day we ate great burgers with guacamole at Rocco's and then went to Kurashiki so I could get my Kitty-chan shopping done! I can't not buy too much Kitty-chan items whenever I go somewhere new! I got some new pens and a really really cute new phone strap! Kitty-chan is dressed like a puppy and she's in this little sphere! It's so cute! I love it. Of course she's dressed up as other animals, but these were a little expensive so I only got one. I also got kibidango which is a kind of sweet that Okayama is known for. I haven't eaten them all yet and I got the smallest package I could!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

so many men in this temple! so many men in this temple!
so many men in this temple!

lots kept falling over...I would NOT want to be in that pit!
wet and coldwet and cold
wet and cold

my jeans were still wet the next day


21st March 2007

o_o
Ha!!! Yeah, I think the first responce that comes out when the picture of these men loads is 'wow' XD Very um interesting temple traditions :D

Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 7; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb