(Heza) Lost in Translation


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Shinjuku
August 1st 2005
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My first Japanese restaurantMy first Japanese restaurantMy first Japanese restaurant

I didn't want to forget my first Japanese izekaya, so I quickly and quietly snapped a picture when I was walking out the door. Check out the smoke in this place!!
With my internal clock totally twisted around, of course I wasn't tired after being awake for almost two days! It was an absolute MUST to hit the streets of Tokyo as soon as I could.

After I found my luggage and room, I headed out with a large group of Toronto JETs. Very quickly the group got split up....I think we were all too busy looking around us, rather than where we were going! I ended up with a guy named Lee. We found an izekaya (Japanese bar) and ordered some dinner by pointing at pictures. Gift giving is an important tradition to Japanese people...we found this out, when the people sitting at the next table ordered a plate of fried chicken fat for us. Yummy!

The next couple of days were spent at the Keio Plaza Hotel, attending seminars about the JET program, living in Japan, and how to teach. It was an overload of information, especially when I was so jetlagged. There were about 2000 people at this orientation. It was cool to meet so many from around the world. That evening they had a Welcome Party in the conference room....free food and drinks....mmmmm.

The Toronto
Coffee, tea, juice?Coffee, tea, juice?Coffee, tea, juice?

The Japanese sure love their vending machines!
group quickly dashed though....we had bigger party plans! In Toronto we were all introduced to this Japanese guy named Daisuke. He happened to be in Tokyo at the same time as our orientation, so he planned a night on the town! We first went to an izekaya, then walked around Shinjuku, and finally sang our hearts out at a kareokee bar! The kareokee bars here are wild! You rent a room, and pay by the hour. During the time your there, the drinks are pretty much free flowing! Dangerous!! I had a GREAT time.

The next night we went to the Canadian Embassy for another welcome party. This was a more formal, information collecting event. By this point, I think everyone was more interested in sleeping than anything else.

Sayonara Tokyo!




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Busy at workBusy at work
Busy at work

How many workers does it take to change an advertisement poster? Five apparently, fully equipt with reflective gear and helmets...just in case something seriously goes wrong! Hilarious!
Welcome PartyWelcome Party
Welcome Party

Just a few English teachers....
Toronto takes over the Izekaya!Toronto takes over the Izekaya!
Toronto takes over the Izekaya!

The start to the Toronto night out in Tokyo
Tokyo lightsTokyo lights
Tokyo lights

Shinjuku, Tokyo
My first attempt at kareokeMy first attempt at kareoke
My first attempt at kareoke

Spice Girls --"Wannabe"
Sing and DanceSing and Dance
Sing and Dance

Kareoke is seriously too much fun!
TokyoTokyo
Tokyo

A view of Tokyo from the Tokyo Metropolitan Buildings. It was a sea of buildings from every direction...it seemed like there is no end to the city.
Canadian EmbassyCanadian Embassy
Canadian Embassy

A group of the Toronto people
The galsThe gals
The gals

Toronto girls... Lisa, Stephanie, Iona, me and ? (so many new people, it's hard to remember!)


10th November 2005

Wow!
Sounds like fun so far..you don't look all that tired in the pics but I'm sure your excitement kept you "up"! Looks like a bunch of neat people! Reading on....

Tot: 0.274s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.1857s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb