The adventure begins


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Ontario » Toronto
July 31st 2005
Published: September 26th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Saying goodbyeSaying goodbyeSaying goodbye

Dad and I hanging at the airport
I'm leaving on a JET plane...

Japan here I come!

I left Toronto with great excitment, and many tears. I don't do very well with goodbyes, so it was an emotional exit at the airport. There was a group of about 130 JETs leaving Toronto, and some of them I met for the first time with teary, puffy eyes. Quite the first impression!

We flew with Air Canada to Tokyo. The flight was long and exhausting! Thirteen and a half hours later, I had eaten two of the same meal, tried desperately to sleep but was totally unsuccessful, and finally hit ground in Japan. When we got off the airplane, the heat hit me like a ton of bricks! Wow! I made it through customs (phew) and was shuffled to a bus. It seemed like there were hundreds of people all dressed in orange shirts, directing the tired, hot and overwhelmed-looking 'newbies'. We drove for another couple of hours, and reached the Keio Plaza Hotel, in the Shinjuku district of Tokyo. Thousands of people wandering about.... an exciting arrival!

p.s. I also added a few pics of my last couple times out in Toronto for your enjoyment!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Birthday partyBirthday party
Birthday party

Thanks Linda!


Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.1183s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.5kb