Day 2 in Tokyo


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Tokyo » Hachioji
June 10th 2015
Published: June 13th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Yogyogi ParkYogyogi ParkYogyogi Park

Meiji Jingu Inner Garden
So day 2 in Tokyo we decided to go to see Yoyogi Park which I have read is a tranquil place which I thought would be a great idea for day 2. We went to the Meij Jingu Inner Garden and the flowers were amazing and such a spiritual place to sit and ponder for a while.

Once we had finished pondering we decided that we (well lets be honest, I decided) would find the flag ship Prada store - well it was designed by Herzog and DeMeuron (who were the architects for the Birds Nest Stadium in Beijing) so we had to go didn't we. Anyway after walking what seemed like miles and miles we found the store - what a let down they did not have the pale blue bag I have been coveting for my birthday - not a happy chappie is all I can say. However, every cloud has a silver lining and as we were walking back Mike noticed a flower market. We decided is looked so lovely so we went in and then found they had a tea house so we stopped and I had a Bora Bora tea and Mike had a beer. It was the most amazing find in Tokyo such a haven of peace and flowers.

On the way back from the tea house we are walking along and you would not believe it we saw this lady walking a tortoise YES a bleeding large TORTOISE it was on an extendable lead. I had to take a photo of this as no one would believe me - even I had to take a second look. Well I must admit that takes the biscuit and I do not think I will ever be able to beat that and I challenge everyone out there to beat this.

So back to the hotel we go. Thank goodness for the JR rail passes that we have they are brilliant and out hotel is right next to the railway station which is a bonus when you want to get rid of heavy bags or your feet are really aching as you have walked for miles and miles. The funny thing is that the soles of my feet are now orange from my Berkinstock shoes. Not good when you cannot get the dye out and your soles are orange especially in Asia as you have to take your shoes off so often - I bet they think this westerner has weird soles!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0927s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb