A Blissful Beerfull Beachside Birthday Barbeque Bathing with Buddies!!!! And of course, Boozer!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Shizuoka
September 3rd 2006
Published: September 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I am in Japan!!! A long way from Adelaide, Australia, but here I am in Shizuoka for a year teaching at an English Kindergarten while seeing and experiencing as much of this crazy, mixed up, amazing country as I can!

Its my birthday, Happy Birthday!!!

Well who would have thought on the 3rd September 1983 that on the 3rd September 2006 I would be celebrating my 23rd birthday in Japan!!!!
Certainly not me, in fact if you had told me on my 22nd birthday last year that next year I would be celebrating my birthday in Japan I would have laughed and told you to have another drink.

But things change, and sometimes doing something that you never dreamed you would do can turn out to be the best thing youve ever done.

Ok enough philosophising...

I was lucky enough to have a whole weekend of birthday celebrations- on Friday night I went out with Encho and kindy staff for dinner, and Saturday night we went out for dinner and then dvd's at Matts' and when it was midnight I had a very special icecream cake with a candle, and then came my actual birthday on Sunday.

The day started stupendously when Marissa surprised me with a treasure hunt through the mansion to find my present- a goodie basket filled with cool Japanese stuff- fingernail rings, Doraemon, lollies and souvenirs! We then had to quickly prepare for the bbq- chopping, slicing, mixing and packing, and then we headed to Ohama beach to let the fun begin!!

The pictures tell the story- so Ill just say thankyou to everyone for their birthday wishes from Australia, to everyone who came to the bbq and especially to Marissa for making my Japanese birthday one to remember!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 55, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Saturday nightSaturday night
Saturday night

Simon, Matt, Marissa and I met Cat and friends at an Izakaya for dinner and somehow Matt ended up arm wrestling this massive guy!!!
Saturday nightSaturday night
Saturday night

A cute little lady wanted to be in the photos.
Saturday nightSaturday night
Saturday night

Marissa, Matt, cute little lady, Cat, and friend
Do I look scared!Do I look scared!
Do I look scared!

I had to drive the monster van home from the Izakaya.
Sunday morningSunday morning
Sunday morning

Treasure Hunt
Treasure HuntTreasure Hunt
Treasure Hunt

A clue in the blender!
Treasure HuntTreasure Hunt
Treasure Hunt

We love getting mail... and its even better when it leads to a pressie!!!!
First pop of the day!!!First pop of the day!!!
First pop of the day!!!

We found Japanese Passion Pop!!!!
Just chillin'Just chillin'
Just chillin'

Before anyone else arrived.
Marissa in the wavesMarissa in the waves
Marissa in the waves

Could be modelling in a surf magazine!
Amy in the wavesAmy in the waves
Amy in the waves

Could be modelling for a beach bogans magazine!


18th September 2006

Birthday bbq
The bbq on the beach looks really good - not a tofu/tongue/gizzard in sight! What a birthday to remember!
19th September 2006

beach!
Great pics Amy. I didn't think there were such nice beaches in Japan! Hope you get a parcel from us soon...better late than never. Love Sheila

Tot: 0.394s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 18; qc: 131; dbt: 0.1165s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb