Second day - visiting the city


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka
October 5th 2016
Published: October 6th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Today is the second day... and my real first ALL day in Osaka. I planned to wake up early but as I have some problems with that, I finally got up at 10 am after some fight with my alarm.

I met in the Kitchen Bon-chan and Junya, and we had breakfast together... It appeared that what I bought the day before was not sweet bred, but curry bred... lol well, it did the job. I also got some insight about the onigiri colors, so now I know that the good ones are the orange and light blue... anyway, I will try them all 😊 After some small chat, Bon-chan and Junya went to work / university, and I got ready to go to town...

My way to town was pretty easy as it was always straight until the road of my school... it still took me a good 40 min, but I was as well checking the shops on the way. I failed massively trying to go to a bicycle shop to ask if they have 2nd hand bikes, as the guy was speaking no english at all, and then I said "ok, I will come back with a friend" :D

On the way the streets are really nice and a lot of little shops which sales everything... and I mean EVERYTHING, are open on the street and there is a mix between food smell and cosmetic shops, and off course 100 yen shops...where everything cost 100yen (1 CHF). That is just AWESOME, and how so much crap can be in this shop... from school furnitures to aquarium stuff etc...

Just before the school, I crossed a neighborhood called "America-Mura", which is well known for the american style shops, the big fashion people and loud music. It is indeed really fun how the people dress and act there... It is more a hip-hop style and underground, but really nice and relax.

Finally, I arrived to the school (massive building) where I go to the 8 floor to check where is the room. There is loads of students everywhere but it seems very nice. I put the location on my map and then it is time to go to eat...

I decided to do the tour in the neighborhood which was recommended on my travel book, so I can visit everything. It made me go through America-Mura again but showed me a little park where you can sit, enjoy the music and watch the people passing... I saw a girl with a good 20-25 cm plateau shoes, who couldn't walk properly, and was dressed like a manga character... That was good fun, but nobody seemed to care 😊

Then I went to "Dotombori", the area of all shops and restaurant, and I got "Takoyaki" to eat, which is a specialty from Osaka and is basically a round crepe (ball) with inside octopus and vegetables + spices.... REALLY GOOOOOOD

I continued my walk around and found in a small street a really cute temple where people were praying... So funny to know that there is the massive shopping street just next to it... it seems like a little hidden area, really old Japanese style, and really quiet compared to the street with shops and restaurant.

After that, it started raining, and it was time for me to go home, trying another way which seemed shorter... The rain got heavier and I got wet in no time before getting home 😞

After a quick nap, I decided to go shopping, but the rain was actually sideways, so I stayed inside and waited... I went shopping around 8.30 pm, and it was no more food almost in the supermarket. (Food is made in the morning, then it get discounted from 5 pm "YAY" but then there is no more around 8 pm lol)

In the evening, I ate with Bon chan and Junya, and went to bed quite late as I was not tired... I think I still have jet-lag :P

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0472s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb