First day in Japan - Arrival


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan
October 4th 2016
Published: October 5th 2016
Edit Blog Post

So here we are, my first day in Japan :D

I arrived this morning at 7.30 am in Osaka airport and now, first challenge, I have to find my way to the apartment. The lady who is renting the room to me gave me clear explanation, and I checked the train on internet, but still, I am not sure how it will go.

After some go and return in the airport, I find the train station and the machine to buy the ticket... and it is in english! VICTORY! A girl still offered to help me and I got the ticket which looks like a Paris' subway ticket. When I arrive at the barrier, to enter the station, comes the first problem... My ticket is really small and the machine seems to take only BIG ticket lol... Finally, after asking the girl at the desk, she tells me that I should just put the small ticket in the big machine, and it will work... indeed it did :P

The train ride was nice, and people are really quiet in the train, people were smiling at me, and it took about an hour. Then I had to change to take the subway for 1 station, which was easy. When I arrived, I had to call Bon (a girl who is leaving with me) so she came to pick me up at the subway station.

We walk through an arcade where she showed me the supermarket and we arrived at the apartment. It is really nice, the same as on the pictures... just a bit smaller that I expected. My room is great with view on the river. Bon explained me the house rules and I met another of my flatmate... Junya. He is a university student 21 years old 😊 really fun.

I spent some time discussing with Bon, then she left for work and I met Hyun, a Korean guy who speaks really good Japanese but few english... so the conversation was funny. He stays here most of the time studying on his computer.

After that, I went to my room and organised a bit... then I slept for 2 hours :P I was actually tired...

When I woke up, I needed to get some food, so I went to the supermarket.... There is basically everything there, but I didn't understand a thing. Everything is written in Japanese with no english, so I ended buying some stuff randomly which looked good 😊... and some sushi :D

When I got back I chilled with Hyun and then the other arrived and we had some beer and food. I met Reina, another flatmate, who is a gilr working for the "Cirque du Soleil". She is making and repairing costume there.

They prepared some food and gave me some to try... which was really good even if I have no idea what it was... then we spoke, made jokes and they add me on the flat group on LINE (asian whatsapp). They taught me some Japanese and I went to bed.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.24s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb