Third day - First day at the school


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Osaka » Osaka
October 6th 2016
Published: October 7th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Last night, the jet-lag got me again... After going to bed at midnight, I couldn't sleep until 4 am. I was turning, hot, cold etc...

Unfortunately, it was my first day at the school... Orientation day with a level test to know in which group I will be (even if I know I will be with the very beginner anyway :P)

So as I fell asleep only at 4, and it was really hard to get up at 8. I was soooooo tired. Quickly in the shower, and I was on my way.

After 35 min walking (+5 running because I was late... lol), I arrived at the school. Everybody was there already and I could spot only few European faces, the rest were Asian.

The teacher was actually the guy I communicated by mail with about my inscription at the school. He is really nice and explained all the school rules, which are really Japanese lol...Everything is defined, no place for any misunderstanding 😊

During the break, I made contact with few people, like 1 Filipino girl and 1 group of Indonesian people. They were really friendly and ask me directly to add them on Line (whatsapp for Asia) and Facebook.

Then, we got the test... and as I expected, I couldn't answer anything (or almost). As it was 1 hour, I start looking around me and I saw all the people filling up their sheet so much that I got worried that I would be the only one with NO knowledge... lol

After the test, everyone vanished from the class, and as I expected to meet some people and maybe grab lunch with them, I was quite disappointed... However, I met outside a German girl from the class, and we went for lunch together.

We basically spend the whole afternoon around Osaka walking and exploring the different parts. As I said yesterday, it is so funny how you can switch from a big street with a lot of shops to another one really small with much more Japanese traditional spirit.

This girl, Rebecca, knows a lot about Japan and the life in Osaka so she gave me some great tips about phone, registration and shopping 😊

I tried a special dish of Japan as well on the way which was sweet and really nice. I don't remember the name, but it is like a fish shaped pancake filled with this Japanese red bean paste (which is sweet).

We walked back home, and I showed her around (as she lives in the same area as me). I went shopping again and I bought a massive Katsu-don (fried chicken with rice and eggs), as well as some new stuff (unknown) and some milk.

In the evening, I met my flatmate who was on holiday in Okinawa. Yumi-chan is a really nice girl, but she doesn't speak much English so our conversations were a mix of Japanese and English, which was quite funny. Bon-chan arrived and we had dinner the 3 of us. I ate all the food I got, which was way too much already, and Bon-chan made pasta which she offered so I was really really full. Yumi-chan showed us some glass-work she made in Okinawa (really nice) and told us about her holiday. Finally, I showed them what I got at the supermarket, and excepted the fact that I bought low fat milk, I got almost everything right 😉

Around 9-9.30 pm, I was really tired (and full) so I went to bed and fell asleep straight away 😊

OYASUMI NASAI (good night in Japanese)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb