Day 6: Naha Uchinanchu Festival 2016 (Oct 2016)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okinawa » Naha
October 26th 2016
Published: March 11th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Wednesday, 26th October 2016

It's day #6 of my trip today and my penultimate day in Okinawa before flying back to Taipei tomorrow. I'm still determined to idle around in Naha city today, doing some eating, some shopping and chit-chatting with the friendly locals. I could sense their smile when they realised that I was from Singapore. At least, they had nice memories of the place where I came from. Words like "clean", "safe" and "hot" were used to describe my country.

In the afternoon, there was a colourful street parade along the International Street with teams mainly from the US walking through the 1.6km boulevard. I was informed that they were here to take part in the 6th Worldwide Uchinanchu Festival. While I did not know the exact significance of this festival, it seemed that the teams were very well-received from the local people with loud cheers from both sides of the boulevard as they made their way through the International Street.

I walked a lot of ground today and my legs were aching a bit by nightfall. Catching sunsets at Tsubogawa where I stayed during my previous trip and stopping by a huge Daiso in Oroku for some final shopping. For dinner, I headed back to my favourite ramen shop again and it was a perfect ending for my short stay in Naha. Nothing touristy, just plenty of nice foods and plenty of monorail journeys in the city.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 12; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb