Baking with Chimpanzees!? (a mild case of culture shock)


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okayama » Tamano
September 1st 2005
Published: September 1st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey guys, how ‘s life treating y’all? It better be treating you well. Life here has been crazy. And I don’t mean your everyday crazy, No, no… I could almost fathom that at this point. I’m talking about 24/7 insanity. And the f#$%ed up part is that most of the day almost feels normal, and you start to get the hang of it. Draw similarities between cultures, smile at little old ladies carrying their groceries home, and then BAMB they hit you square between the eyes with their ace/wild card flopping a huge three of a kind --- destroying your measly pocket 10s. And who knew there would be WILD CARDS?! Good God - Just yesterday I turned on the TV, I guess for background noise, and saw there was a cooking show. I’m like cool, maybe I could learn how to cook Japanese cookies, cus there’s a mom and a small girl. They’re helping each other find ingredients and stir the batter and put it in the oven. WaLa - they’ve made cookies, and I think that I’ve got a better grasp on how mom’s and daughters interact in their culture. Then the Dad comes out to the kitchen holding a chimpanzee’s hand and proceeds to make the same cookies with the help of the chimpanzee! First there was contained madness. The monkey was on the counter checking out its surroundings. Then it was like the inside of a golf ball’s condensed rubber bands unwinding. At first only a couple of strings flew to uncoil themselves, but then the ball hit something that sent it flying around the room bouncing off doors and ricocheting off of chairs. Until the golf ball had finished untangling itself and the entire room was covered in a layer of rubber band string or in this case a thick layer of flour, egg, and sugar. It was absolute delirium. And all I could think was WHAT!? Could that even be called a wild card? Completely and utterly insane.

But really, I would like to think that I am making the best of it all. The old ladies with their groceries sometimes smile back at me, and that within itself makes me so happy. Happy to break an unspoken barrier. It is quite amazing how far a smile will take you. It never fails that when I am at register and I don’t know what’s going on, I just have to laugh and smile, and say silly things in horrible Japanese and then they start laughing. And I blush and laugh more and they almost feel embarrassed that I’m embarrassed. It’s got to be funny to watch. And ever time I walk away thinking, gosh--- why don’t I know more Japanese, and I’m sure that they were wishing their English was better. So, tomorrow will be my first day of teaching a class. Hopefully, I can figure out how to motivate them more than I can myself. Haha, quite the hypocrite aren’t I? I’ve never taught a class before. And that seems to be the only question that any of the teachers asked me today. And im like yes… yes, I will be okay. Just please let me be. Sometimes they can be a little too motherly, and as Neil put it as soon as they get their thumbs out of their @ss and actually start planning their own lessons, they’ll get out of my business, too. Can’t wait for that day. Good Gracious.

Don’t know if I have too much more to report. I’ll make the rest brief. I bought a bike. A road bike. I’ve traveled quite a bit on it as well. 68+16+20+10=almost 115 km within a weeks time! Yeah, and I’ve only had one accident so far. Haha. Didn’t hurt the bike so much. But I did happen to scrap the 1st layer of skin off the inside of my left arm and received a massive bruise to my right boob from a tree that luckily stopped me from tumbling down the hill. Again, Neil reminded me that I was lucky to have padding… always the wise guy. Think Neil might be my brother before this year is over with. I’ve always wanted a big brother. And dont worry mom, I'm buying a helmet. Well, guess that’s all to write home about. Do take care. Don’t worry, I won’t hold my breath till you write, but I’ll be expecting (gosh - doesn’t that sound horrible?!)

Hugs and lots love,

Ashley



Advertisement



9th September 2005

great blog
Hey Ash, just read your whole blog... awesome reading. today's been my blog day - fridays are B.O.E. days. keep it up! write more! And, btw, chimpanzees aren't monkeys. :)

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb