Beach Party, Being Led by the chin and I'm writing a book?


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okayama
August 31st 2005
Published: August 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Okay - had some complaints about not writing anything. I thought that I had nothing to write, and I still think that I have nothing to write, but being bored at work and sitting at the computer is sooo much better than staring at my desk. So, here I go.

This week has been great. On Monday night Niel and I went to the beach for a barbeque. He had a couple of Japanese friends that were cooking out and drinking beers. Turns out that it was a party of 20 Japanese around the college age. And when I say cooking out, they cooked for 4 hours straight. They grilled most of the food, beef, chicken, eggplant, and sweet potatoes on the beach in a portable griller. Humm… it was good. And quite funny to watch the Japanese people drink 2 to 3 beers and be sloshed! Haha, before I knew it I had 4 girls (power in numbers) grabbing on to my arms, yelling in really fast Japanese, laughing, and pulling me across the sand towards some fireworks that they had brought. So, me and the girls shot off fireworks and played with sparkles. And you would have thought they had never seen fireworks before. They were TERRIBLY EXCITED and SLOSHED. Running around and falling into the sand. Later we played some beach volleyball in the dark with a flat ball and a saggy net. Actually felt quite good blocking couple of spikes, but then again I am taller than most here. Then as soon as I thought the party was coming to an end. The girls brought out a watermelon and broomstick. Apparently, they have this game where you blindfold someone, hand them the stick and direct them towards the watermelon on the ground. (It’s a lot like pin the tail on the donkey--- but much 10 times as intense) Everyone is yelling this way and that, then they tell you to whack it! Haha, and everyone gets a shot. Niel and I even got into the game. I actually hit the melon, but didn’t break it. Anyways, it was quite an experience. I traded numbers with a couple of girls, and they again were soooo excited about getting my number. Haha, crazy, crazy night. Rode home and tried to call a couple of y’all on the phone to tell you about it, but I couldn’t figure out how to work the phone card. Oh -well next time.

Humm… well, the past weekend was fun, too. Anything here is fun and exciting. Went salsa dancing and had a great time. Danced with teacher and that’s always the best. Well, until he tries to turn you with your chin, and he leads you into a table full of drinks. Ahh! And the sad thing was, I only broke my drink! (Please, Insert favorite profanity here!)

Phew - and the next day didn’t get any better. We were trying to go to a festival an hour to two out of the city. Well, didn’t catch the transfer on the train --- and ended up two hours out of the way in this little, bitty, tinny, weenie city called Nimi. So me and three other Jets just hung out in Nimi for the day. Actually was located in the middle of my prefecture away from the ocean and in the middle of all these mountains with a river running through the city. It was breathe takingly beautiful. IF ONLY I HAD A CAMARA! Then caught the train back to the city to meet up with some other friends for a huge 3 person birthday party. Haha, was great to see everyone again, so we partied, and danced, and then I tried to go, but no one wanted to go. So, I was stuck with the group - which wasn’t bad, I was just tired. We had to take the first train home that morning at 5:54 in the morning. Gosh --- it was a long, long day. Don’t think that I’ll be having too many of those nights anytime soon. I am getting way, way too old for such shenanigans.

So my next new project is going to be walking around taking pictures of all the crazy costumes around here (have I posted about this before? - sorry if I have). Wow, everyone takes so much time to get ready around here, and there is such an expression of oneself through the clothes they were. I think im going to tell people that im making a book and then ask them if I can take their pic to be in it. That way I get to practice my Japanese, learn some lingo, and hopefully make some more Japanese friends. Should be a great time. And if I ever get around to it, I could always make the book! Ashley being published? Wow, that’s a thought.

Well, its lunch time. So I’ll end this rambling. Hope everyone is doing well. I love you all long time, 5 dollar. - Ashley


Advertisement



11th September 2005

tehe
drunk Asians girls are the funnest. They always end up on the ground laughing.

Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb