Teaching funnies…


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Okayama » Tamano
September 12th 2005
Published: September 12th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Oh - so before I forget I have some funny stories about classes. The first one happened the 1st day I taught. Wow - that was an experience. You talk and explain, then ask if they understand, and no response what so ever. Just a blank stare - if you frown in Japanese culture I’ve been told that it means that you are in disagreement with the speaker, or that you don’t like them. So - they never show that they don’t know what you’re talking about, just stare right back at you. And the same thing if they understand. So, you can imagine the frustration that immediately hits you in not being able to communicate in English or the little broken Japanese that I know. --- so I broke in class, got up in the front of the room and went on about how in America when we mean yes, we shake our heads like this… and I made everyone practice shaking their head up and down. Then when we mean no, we do this… lol - and then me and the whole class practiced shaking our heads. I really don’t think the kids knew exactly what was going on, or that they actually had to practice shaking their heads, but afterwards it actually made a difference in their responsiveness, probably because they didn’t want to be humiliated again. Lol - I didn’t even look back at the teacher at that point.

Oh- another really funny/aggravating thing that happens is kids fall asleep all the time and I have to going around waking them up, etc… the other day, one of the bad boys went to sleep and I wrote him a note that said something like “do you know who Ronald McDonald is?” (which was part of the lesson for the day) and while the other teacher was speaking in Japanese in the back of the room, I slide the note under his arm. Haha, of course all the other bad boys, were like…. What?! Did she just slip him a note, dude --- wake up, what does it say, sort of thing. He wakes up and looks at the note, completely confused because he hadn’t figured out how it got there or what it meant because he had slept through the lesson. So he passed it back to someone behind him that wanted to look at the note. - But got caught passing the note, and the Japanese teacher ripped it from his hand and totally got on to him in front of the class. Lol - and all I could do was look at the boys and give them a shrug of man, you shouldn’t have gotten caught! Well, it made such a commotion that the no one in the class went back to sleep that day. (and the other teacher never knew)

Another thing that is happening, is weird questions. Like do you believe in God. And I was like humm… well, humm… I think they just wanted to see my squirm. Other questions are like why did you come here? Do you own a gun?! What type of blood do you have? I was like good blood, I guess. They wanted my blood type, and I was like O - and the whole class was like ahhh…. Totally flew over my head, like does it matter? Why do you want to know that?! Well… turns out that it’s actually part of some Japanese fortune telling… Here’s a copy of some info that I found on the net. What kind of fortune do you have? Is it true?

Personality Traits By Blood Type - A Japanese Concept

Beginning in approximately 1930, the Japanese embraced the idea of matching personality traits with one's blood type. This phenomenon is as popular in Japan as the idea of matching horoscope with personality is in the States.

Almost all Japanese are aware of their blood type. The idea began when some in the west were touting the idea that the asian peoples were more closely related to animals then humans, or lower on the evolutionary chain, since type B blood was the predominant blood type in asians and animals. As ludicrous and unscientific as this idea was, it was insulting to say the least. Modern science disproves this obviously faulted idea. In the 1930's Furukawa Takeji (1891-1940) set out to disprove this notion and a new idea was born.

However, the idea of personality traits being influenced by blood type remains. Companies in Japan even had divided workers by blood type.

Here are the general ideas of each blood type. The Rh factor plays no role in the blood type/personality idea:

Type O: (this is me)
Type O's are outgoing, and very social. They are initiators, although they don't always finish what they start. Creative and popular, they love to be the center of attention and appear very self confident.

Type A:
While outwardly calm, they have such high standards (perfectionists) that they tend to be balls of nerves on the inside. Type A's are the most artistic of the blood groups. They can be shy, are conscientious, trustworthy, and sensitive.

Type B:
Goal oriented and strong minded, type B's will start a task and continue it until completed, and completed well. Type B's are the individualists of the blood group categories and find their own way in life.

Type AB:
Type AB's are the split personalities of the blood groups. They can be both outgoing and shy, confident and timid. While responsible, too much responsibility will cause a problem. They are trustworthy and like to help others.

Compatability by Blood Groups:

A is most compatible with A and AB

B is most compatible with B and AB

AB is most compatible with AB, B, A and O

O is most compatible with O, and AB

http://www.bellaonline.com/articles/art22988.asp



Advertisement



13th September 2005

very interesting
Hey Ashley, Way to go and be sneaky and show those kids they can't mess with you. If you aren't already, but I'm sure you are, you should keep a journal becuase the cultural and individual interactions you are experiencing are facinating. Quick update on me: I became a godmother September 6th, and being in the delivery room was one of the most amazing experiences I've ever had...wow. Also I'm having an indepth study of the republic of plato...the best thought provoking book I've ever read. Okay, I'm thinking of you and wish you well as always. <3 -Lauren
15th September 2005

Sweet
That's awesome. It also sounds a lot like something I would do. Except... my method would likely involve firecrackers... How old are these kids?
16th September 2005

EXC ADVENTURE
Some of the best reading in ages, keep up the stories.

Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0192s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb