A Safari Park, a mountain and strawberry fields of love!!!


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Mt Fuji
February 27th 2007
Published: March 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Weekends in Japan are fabulous, never a dull moment and always something new to see and do!!
Amy and I decided to go strawberry picking a few weekends ago, I was really excitied about it...........and then it was a big let down. I dont know why but I imagine strawberry picking to be completely outside not in a small, insect infested hothouse. There was no getting in touch with nature, but the strawberries were oishi.......and you get to eat them with condenced milk. It was another experience never the less.

For anyone living in Japan I have a must see for you if you like animals. The Safari Park at Fuji was amazing. You can drive your own car around the park or as Amy and I did get on a cool animal bus.....our bus was a lion. If you go on the bus you get the experience of feeding the animals which you dont get in a car. The black bears were beautiful to look at but up close feeding them not so pretty, just scary. The most exciting thing for me was feeding the lions and lioness. We were feeding a lioness through the cage on the bus when it decided to let out a huge roar....I think my heart stop for a few seconds and then proceed to beat like crazy. Her teeth were huge and the noise my goodness even through the bars I thought she was trying to eat me. There were tigers, cheetahs, elephants, white Rhinoceros-my favourite animal there, zebras, giraffes, ostrich, lamas, yaks, wapitis, Japanese deer and lots of others in the Safari zone. There are 2 other animal sections, Fureai Bokujo-petting zoo and Dobutstu Mura-walk through animal village. I was excited to see kangroos and got a good laugh when I saw sheep and pigs. The Japanese people thought the sheep and pigs were fabulous I found it funny to watch their excitment over animals that are everywhere in Australia. It was an amazing experience being so close to the Safari animals I wont forget it in a hurry.
Our excitment didnt end at the Safari Park, we decided to make a small detour on the way back to Shizouka and stopped off at the Shiraito Falls which were beautiful and Lake Tanuki.

We were very lucky the weather was great, nice sunny day with clear skies making for fabulous views of Mt Fuji. it is the best view I have had of Mt Fuji since I got to Japan. I got some brilliant photos thanks to Amys camara ability.....she was in heaven that day with how beautiful Fuji was.

Another great sight, another weekend come and went and looking forward to the next weekend adventure.
Until next time hugs and kisses for alll......





Additional photos below
Photos: 38, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



12th March 2007

What about the dik dik?
Yes, the giraffe is my favourite, but special mention must go to the dik dik- only in Japan! Wheres the photo of you walking up the stairs at the falls. Your arse is hot!!!!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0247s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb