Goodbye London, Big hello Japan, not so big hello fish testicles...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Gifu
June 16th 2008
Published: June 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Genki Drinks...Genki Drinks...Genki Drinks...

Hangover cure, smaller waist, bigger boobs, energy boost, vitamins...the choice is endless...
As most of you know, I have gone back to Japan for one month. From the moment I left Japan last summer I have been thinking about it everyday...and now I am back and feeling incredibly happy!

This time my friend Kelvin from school has joined me for 2 weeks travelling. (Click here to check out his blog too! CRANNTIME)
Then the rest of my time I will be studying...so this is a very different type of holiday compared to last time where I was on the move for 5 weeks!

Plane - Slept for the majority of my 19 or so hours total journey...but waking up for my favourite..plane food! Oh and I nearly knocked over my entire tray by letting go of the remote control cord for the TV...my fork nearly ended up on some man's lap...embarassing...
Airport - I was the only one to get searched...my entire suitcase as well! It was full of baby stuff that I had brought over for my friend's new baby...but I was asked 'do you have baby?' Quite amusing...

I have only been here for 3 days, so this blog entry is really just a quick update, and to
Oishii...Oishii...Oishii...

This sandwich is yummy. Lets bite and taste it! How can you not buy something when it says that...
let everyone know that I was no where near the earthquake that happened the other day! Let's hope that the earthquakes and typhoons stay away from me!

Right now I am staying with my friends Ed and Yoshiko who I stayed with last year. (Click here to read my entry last year with them! Heading west on the Shinkansen...)
Now they have a 2 month old baby called Art Hiro, who I just want to play with all the time!

We all went out on our first night to an Izakaya restaurant, which happened to be my very first Izakaya that I went to last year! Although this time something not that great happened...with Ed knowing that I now eat fish he ordered a very special fish starter...I asked him what it was and he said he would tell me after I tried it. Maybe there, I should have realised that it would be a big mistake...as the moment I swallowed this round, white, slimey, gooey, of course only in Japan food...I was told (to other's enjoyment only!) that I just ate the testicle of a blowfish...sperm 'n all...


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Gifu...Gifu...
Gifu...

Walking to the supermarket in Gifu...atsui ne...
Beard Papa...Beard Papa...
Beard Papa...

My favourite! I now have tried the cheaper version of it...and it really does not beat it...not even close...


16th June 2008

hahaha thats soooo gross! but funny! what did it taste like? xx
16th June 2008

too funny
See what happens when you go back to the Dark Side! They may have cookies but they also have fish testicles. I hope you have a great trip and that your "friends" don't have too many surprises for you. Hugs, liisa
16th June 2008

What a memory !
Hi Lucy, its great to be reading your blog once again. You must have found it very muzukashi to eat that wonderful dish ! did you eat it tottemo yukkuri ? the thought of it is awful. But hey what a wonderful memory of Ed you have now !!!! Have fun love Okasan. xxx PS Are you impressed by the odd Japanese word !!!!!
16th June 2008

Big Bro's
I can't believe your big brothers weren't there to interrogate the fish and ask it it's long term wedding plans! - Have a great time! xx
16th June 2008

Nice
Hah, that'll teach you for loving sushi lol. I think every travel story has to have some gross element. At least you didn't have to eat testicle stew, as Ewan McGregor was unlucky enough to have to do.
16th June 2008

Nastyyy
Seriously, thats so gross, how did you manage to keep that down after they told you? You should try some pork out there or something, come on lucy, back on the meat :-P
17th June 2008

ewww
haha thats gross.. I'm glad your having a fun time :S cant wait to read ya blogs as you go!!! xx
17th June 2008

eek.
Spit or swallow ?! hahaha. glad your enjoying yourself xx
18th June 2008

Yuk yuk and yuk
Ha Ha Rather you than me, How gross,was you sick after? Look forward to reading what you get up to next. keep away from any earthquakes!! take care.xxxxxxxx
20th June 2008

I love the pic of the ...
Gifu... Walking to the supermarket in Gifu...atsui ne...
24th June 2008

IM BACK!
Nuff said

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb