Heading west on the Shinkansen...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Aichi » Nagoya
August 10th 2007
Published: August 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lucy and Kewpee...Lucy and Kewpee...Lucy and Kewpee...

I first came across Kewpee in Melbourne with my friend Danny..a big naked baby on the front of a building. It is so kawai (cute)...and yes I did take it from the bar to go home with me...
My Mum was only staying in Tokyo for one week, so I then became Lucy the solo traveller again! I went and stayed with a girl called Michelle who actuallly lives down my street in Essex! Spent two nights at her apartment and made a trip to a Photography exhibition in Ebisu in Tokyo. Was very funny coming across a display of photographs showing Essex fashion...I am the other side of the world and Essex has come to me in the form of a photograph!

I left Michelle's and got on the Shinkansen (Bullet Train) to Nagoya. I sat next to an old Japanese man, he hardly spoke a word of English, just like I can hardly speak Japanese...but we managed to have a little chat and share a few laughs...

In Nagoya I have been staying with a friend called Ed who is also from my home town. My first day in Nagoya I spent visiting two temples and a bustling shopping area called Osu Kannon. Finidng lunch was muzukashi (difficult) as pretty much every dish has meat in it. I try hard with my Japanese though to tell them what I don't eat. In Japan I don't quite think they fully understand the concept of vegetarianism as it is so rare over here. I have however started to gradually bring fish into my diet...purely for health reasons...I still feel bad about it...

I also spent a few nights in Gifu which is where Ed's girlfriend Yoshiko lives. My first night in Gifu was so much fun, Yoshiko took me to a small street festival (this week has been Obon Festival in Japan) where I sampled some fine Japanese beer called Kirin. I then experienced my first Izakaya. It is like a restaurant where you order heaps of small dishes and just share them amongst everyone in your group...oh yes and lots of beer. I think it is the heat maybe that is making me really enjoy an ice cold beer...I would never crave that in England! The tofu is amazing over here and I love their Edamame beans. We finished the night in a bar, all sitting on the stools right up at the bar. I liked the look of this bottle in the shape of a glass slipper and so chose to drink that...oiishi (delicious)...it is now in my bag ready to come home with me...


Advertisement



18th August 2007

Ed !
Good to see a photo of Ed, say hello from us, looks like his having fun. Enjoy love Okasan x
20th August 2007

??
How can Ed breathe in that tiny bottle?

Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.2028s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb