Sun, sights and a snoring smelly dorm...


Advertisement
Japan's flag
Asia » Japan » Kyoto » Kyoto
June 18th 2008
Published: June 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Japanese pose...Japanese pose...Japanese pose...

As you all know, I love the Japanese peace sign pose...however, I think Kelvin is quite reluctant about it...look at those bent fingers...
It has felt really good visiting places that I went to last year, I like knowing my way around (roughly) and things feeling familiar...(Click this next link to read about my time in Kyoto last year! Lucy has fallen in love with Kyoto...)

My three nights in Kyoto were extremely tiring. Hiring a bike everyday and cycling non stop certainly has had an effect! Although luckily I can sleep through most things...so the hideous snoring in my dormitory did not wake me up...I just had to put my headphones on and listen to The Geoff Show super loud to drown it out before I fell asleep!

Day one, we cycled across the whole of Kyoto city to get to Kinkakuji Temple, which is the pretty golden one. It took us about an hour and a half to get there and I now have a small red patch on my back where I must have missed on the suncream! Cycling back through the small narrow streets was my favourite, via the Imperial Palace gardens. There were heaps of school children running round the circumference of the Imperial Palace wall (huge!) which I am assuming is the long distance running. That is so much better than running
Bell ringer...Bell ringer...Bell ringer...

I was the only one who actually created a loud ringing sound! Being on the SWF Handbell team must have something to do with it...
across the muddy banks by the River Crouch for cross country practice! (With me at the very back of course!)

Day two, was rather interesting. Hiring bikes again we cycled to an area where there are hundreds of torii (Read about it last year! The week I became slightly Japanese and 5 years old again...). Deciding to not go any further after a lovely view over the city, we had a choice of three paths...unfortunately taking the wrong one. We ended up in a more residential area, although they were all such beautiful huge houses with fabulous designs...we were in fact lost. At the ready with my Japanese, I asked three different people directions...(I think I still need to practice listening for answers...all I know is left, right, straight on and behind!) Eventually we made it back to where we parked our bikes...and enjoyed the breeze on the downhill journey back to town...

That night something special did actually happen...cycling briefly through the Gion district back to the hostel, I saw my very first Geisha...so beautiful and elegant...I am so lucky to have seen one as not everyone does!

Nights in Kyoto seemed fairly shizuka (quiet)...so one night, our evening search of finding a good bar, swiftly
Sake for tramps...Sake for tramps...Sake for tramps...

Have yet to try this...but one day I think I just have to buy it. It looks awful though and only costs about 70p...
turned into an alcohol vending machine crawl. I am thinking of bringing this idea back home...but instead of vending machines...off licenses! Not on the tube though of course!! Just on the street...


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Golden temple...Golden temple...
Golden temple...

So glad it was a beautiful day, so the gold glistened even more...
Onaji...Onaji...
Onaji...

All the little school children are made to wear the same clothes...so cute! A sea of yellow hats...
Following the leader...Following the leader...
Following the leader...

Following their teacher with a flag...kawaii ne...
Half dead bug...Half dead bug...
Half dead bug...

My blogs would just not be complete without an up close photo of a dead animal, would they? Although, this one...well its head was still moving, slightly scary...
Hooray...Hooray...
Hooray...

This car got a little lost...
Beaker drinks...Beaker drinks...
Beaker drinks...

Kelvin had a jelly eyeball in his drink, and I had candyfloss in mine...oishii ne...


20th June 2008

Pictures make a big difference.
I can see you are having a smashing time. How is the weather? Cheers
20th June 2008

Tottemo atsui
I see its still very tottemo atsui, you must remember you sun screen !! Sounds fantastic as usual, is the time going yukkuri? Have you yet to go on the shinkansen ? Continue to have fun Love always Okasan xxx
21st June 2008

incredible incredible
I cant believe you saw a geisha? how is it travelling with the krannmeister, I am so jealous. It looks beautiful. x
24th June 2008

The Geoff show..
.. ha, I'm glad that he's there for you in your travels :) sounds like you're having a smashing time and I couldn't be happier for you, my dear.. I just got home from Ireland, had the most amazing time until Aer Lingus managed to lose my luggage. Hurray! But you keep having fun and posting those blogs for us!
24th June 2008

Good to be on the road again
How good does it feel glad to see your having lots of fun. Keep it up Cilla

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.1102s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb