APRIL 2015 . MONTHLY HIGHLIGHTS


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java
August 30th 2015
Published: August 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post


• Since my coaching duties ended I began to swim every day after work. I also played ultimate Frisbee once a week. It was a nice time of year – feels like I had a little bit more time for other things.






• A group of us went to a Hillsong concert downtown






• The student council committee I supervise ran an 30 Hour Famine event this month – we slept over at the school and made pancakes for the participants in the morning






• Celebrated one of my Indonesian friend’s birthdays. She’s the Food Tech teacher so we headed to a food bazaar and tried different dishes. I tried tongue for the first time served with some butter rice. After asking from which animal the tongue came from no one knew-who knows what I had!






• Went to a huge craft fair called INACraft hosted at the exhibition centre downtown. Lots of goods sold at great prices. I went for the curiosity more so. Bought a few things such as more glass cups for my kitchen where as others bought furniture and other large items for their apartments.






• The grade 1 and 2 after school soccer season ended. We had our year end tournament where we invited other schools to participate as well in. The half day event was enjoyed by the kids, parents and coaches alike.






• As part of our PE program Grade 10 students are divided into groups and must choreograph and perform their dance in front of their peers. It’s something the Grade 10 students feel nervous about doing, but everyone else enjoys it. I proposed we should get a teacher group together. I was able to convince some members in the departments to join me next year as it was too late for this year. My colleague who has a hip hop dance back ground would lead us –we’ll see if this plan flies.






• I co-arranged a late Easter brunch with everyone who came to Indonesia the same year I did. Half the group is moving on and so it was nice to have almost everyone together and talk about our first impressions and experiences of Indonesia. The people who have decided to leave will be missed!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.23s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0881s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb