Jog, Jog, Jogja...


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Yogyakarta
May 16th 2010
Published: May 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I read 1 of vagabonding article by Lavinia Spalding, she wrote a phrase " Don't think about it too much. Don't make pro and con lists. Pro and con lists are nothing but trouble. If you think about it too much, you'll just end up staying home and then someday you'll be telling your grandchildren ".

This will motivate me since I just decide to quit my job and find out what world can offer me from now. Next destination, I'm heading to Jogjakarta, lack of time do to research, so I just go with a flow. I hope there's not much different between Jakarta and Jogjakarta, because I have been to Jakarta before.

Landed at 11am, I catch Trans Jogja ( very efficient and reliable public transport ) that only cost Rp3,000 to any bus station within Jogjakarta city. After seeking around, I manage to get a rooms at within Jl Sasrowijayan call 'Losmen Anda', and it only cost Rp40,000 per night. After check in. I check out around town and start to sort out what should I do here

This time I decide not to use tour operator, and visit all those historical place by using public transportation.
No Skycraper here, not like Jakarta. They use trishaw and colt as secondary transportation. Local people here very nice, charm and friendly. But must extra carefull with people who selling batik painting, but they make a story about exhibition, try to gain fund from public , try to gain business by sympathy from tourist. Try to avoid that .! And maybe they will create another story instead.

Borobudur located about 1hrs drive from center of city. This temple is another famous Buddhist temple after Angkor Wat, carving and material look quiet similar though. Divide by 4 level, surround by total of 72 stupa.
After paying USD15 for entrance ticket, walk through the path about 5min, you can see this temple that was build top of the hills. Its really amazed me. Sitting between stupa and overlook at the Mount Merapi, breathtaking scenery ever.

Next day I went to Kraton ( King Palace ), entrance ticket cost about USD5 per person. This place is very suitable for who love about culture and performance. They start to play Gamelan ( traditional instrument )
at 11pm. This place use to be King Palace before, but they still use for official ceremony. They open this place to public, so they can expose more about their culture and traditional stuff to tourist and public.

I stay in Jogja for 3 night and get my direct bus ticket from Jogjakarta to Denpasar at Giwangan bus station.
ticket cost me about RP150,000.

Next destination BALI !!!!!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0658s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb