Fly me to Jakarta (February 2014)


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
February 14th 2014
Published: March 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post


Congested traffic might be one of the dampers. Yet in my opinion, the city boasts some of the most beautiful traffic roundabouts in Asia as I shared in one of my Facebook postings recently.

These group of pictures were taken around the Welcome Monument in Central Jakarta during one of the Car-Free Sundays in February 2014. I liked that the main Jalan Thamrin thoroughfare (think Orchard Road in Singapore) is converted to a traffic-free boulevard much to the joy of cyclists and pedestrians.

I'm happy to sacrifice a couple hours of sleep on a Sunday to join in the early morning walk from my hotel to the National Monument (Monas).

Certainly, this was one of the rare treats in this crowded city.




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.328s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 79; dbt: 0.2459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb