Taman Mini Indonesia


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Java » Jakarta
June 25th 2007
Published: June 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

This is my only real entry for Jakarta. I went here on my first full day with Jessica, her mum and little sister. The night before I was unwell and threw up a couple of times. By morning I was feeling good and headed out.
The place is like a theme park in many ways. Inside you had houses and temples from every region and habital island of Indonesia. Considering there is over 1700 islands there was a lot to see. Was reading on my way to Jakarta that the government is going to start a cenus to see how many islands there actually are. Since many islands have the same name, it makes the above figure only an estimate.
We drove about the park and stopped whenever there was something I wanted to see. Me and the two troublemaker(Jessica and Josie) stopped at the Bali section and saw a small group of children practicing a traddtional dance. They explained to me all of the moves. The eyes always look the oppisite way that they are dancing. Was secretly hoping someone would fall, but they didnt.
We also stopped off at a bird sanctuary. Inside were birds from all over Indonesia. Saw some strange looking things there. Change that. Saw lots of strange looking things. After that the day took a turn for the worst. I started to feel really unwell and I threw up in a squat toliet. It wasnt a plesant experince I can tell you.
We headed back to the hotel after that. The rest of my week in Jakarta was spent in the hotel and the Taman Anggrek shopping Mall across the road. Was took to the mall most nights for dinner since they had a massive food court and all the big international fast food and resturants chains. Didnt eat much that week though.
At least I took unwell at the time when I had someone to look out for me and drag me to the hospital. A thank you to Jessica and her mum.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Mini Indonesia4Mini Indonesia4
Mini Indonesia4

Beethoven watch out.
Mini Indonesia6Mini Indonesia6
Mini Indonesia6

Trouble and troubles little sister. Also known as Jessica and Josie


Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb