Indo Feb 5++


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Kuta
February 6th 2009
Published: February 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Feb 6th Friday

I Called Gede my driver to take me back to Nusa Dua. Today the surf was all over the place peaking everywhere, it wasn't as big, and there were a number of people out so kind of hard to get waves especially when people either pull out once there almost in or can't even get in. I saw Rachel and Ryan out in the water i didnt ask about Katie but only assuming she went to Sumatra. Man Ryan is a lucky guy hot as surfer chick girlfriend to travel with and she shreds. I got speared by some dude today as i was paddling back out. Normally i paddle into the brunt of the wave so the have a good line unless im really close or dont know if they will make it and this guy i couldn't tell and he wiped or bailed out in front of me and his board speared my side pretty bad. It knocked the wind out of me for a while. It left a red mark and hurts to the touch but no cut or anything good thing i was wearing my vest. I had some good waves but also some good wipe outs on to the reef today. Almost took one head first but i caught myself. Lucky no cuts other than the first day when i kicked some of the reef. After surf i just chilled out used the net and had dinner where i met this nice server guy who asked me to go to Ubud with him to visit friends. He seemed really nice the same kid i had asked a day or 2 before what was good to eat. So he gave me his number and and i texted him when i got home and through a number of texts i figured out he was gay and wanted me to pretend to like him if i went to Ubud with him to make his boyfriend jealous to see if he really loved him or not. haha pretty crazy. Why couldnt it have been some girl that would have been interesting/fun. I always seem to get hit on by gay guys why not girls even gay girls id be ok with just not dudes. Any way i told him maybe and went off to bed.

Feb 7th Saturday

I woke up and saw that my foot was a little swollen my first thoughts were its infected or the superglue has reaction my body doesnt like. My foot swelled last time i glued my shin so i dint think much of it. I called Gede and went back to Nusa Dua the surf looked small i watched it for a long time and finally decided to just go out, "F it im in bali just surf even for a bit. " So i tried paddling straight out through a channel but as i was on the reef the water was moving so fast i couldn't get out the back so i had to I paddle all the way around. Where i caught 2 waves and got sucked on the inside again and tried holding on to the reef and cut my finger I eventually had to paddle around again and i decided to go all the way to the bigger section waves. I got a few waves but nothing great and there were sneaker sets that would come in an clean us all up so i finally decided to head in for a snorkel. Like i said the water was moving fast over the reef so i just got swept along the shore to where the reef opens up and got deep it was like being in the inlet on the island super strong and wavy. But boy were there some big fish unfortunately they were very aware of me and and would swim off very fast so it would be hard to spear them especially with my lil travel gun. Gede took me back to town where i just walked around a bit and ate twice and i got some alcohol to clean my foot in case it was infected. I cleaned it a few times and left a gauze pad soaked with alcohol on it over night and iced it a bit last night. Its still swollen but the cuts dont look infected there not red or pus at all and they dont even hurt. I remember i kicked a step the night before and must have bruised/popped something in my foot to cause the swelling. At least i hope so.

Feb 8th
well i woke up this morning and my foot was still swollen so i cleaned it with 3 different cleaners alcohol iodine and something else then i layered ointment on it and taped it up. Doesn't look infected but well see. I decided to have a down day and just chill and have a look around to see what to do. I was hanging out a convent store on the across the street from the beach and Don Urban came up to me and started talking to me. He was Toronto born but lives in Seoul. He is a DJ Promoter. He told me some pretty crazy stories and bout parties and being back stage and chicks, pretty pimping sounding but this guy wasn't like DJ MATTY STUTZ he must have been late 30s and pretty fat and pale and balding i think. haha just seemed a lil weird but hey hes still rocking hard i suppose. I decided to have another massage tonight it was pretty good not super strong into the muscles but super relaxing. Then i went to have dinner at this back alley local spot. I had some BBQ chicken skewers and rice it was really tasty. Again i had another person just start talking to me this time he was a local drug dealer it really surprised me he was dress nice/casual pants and polo shirt clean cut and again probably mid late 30s. Really nice guy though. I finished my dinner and went home to bed.

Feb 9th
Today I did a tour with Gede. We started it off with a local dance Beblin. It was more of a lil play then a dance then did dance because they handed out sheets with the acts on it and what was happening so it was like a lil theater. But it was pretty cool. Then we stopped at a hand made/weaving factory. It was really neat how they were painting the clothing with died wax and then scraping the wax off. I got some nice presents from there. Our next stop was a painting gallery the artist was really talented lots of very nice paintings but everything was pretty expensive so i didnt get anything. Then we finally hit the Monkey Forest which was awesome. There were so many lil monkeys around that you could feed bananas. The keepers told us to hold the banana high over our head and the monkey would climb up you like a tree and take the banana some times they'd jump right off other times they would chiill on your shoulder of a while. It was so cool i had a few grab into my finger and just hold on as they at their banana so neat then i had one try and eat the iphone. I wish i got a photo of that could have been a good advertisement for apple haha. It started pooring so we stopped for lunch at a famous pig sickling place. Really good pig skewer and pig skin. We were supposed to head to a volcano and a lake but we didnt think the visibility would be good so we headed home. We stopped at the old kings house on the way home and a very nice temple. We also stopped at a wood carving place again amazing work very talented people but everything was pretty heavy and pricey so i didnt get anything. When we got home i relaxed and sat on the beach, watched the surf and had some chicken soup. I walked around at night and bought a sweet parachute hammock had a second dinner and hit the sack.

Feb10th
Today i got up and decided to call home and catch up with the rents. Then Gede and i headed out for another surf/snorkel tour. We hit Seregan first to surf. It was ok. Amazingly crowded I paddled out into the main pack where it looked the best but got dropped in on once and had people pull out and waste a wave. I saw another break further out to the north with less people and bigger so i headed over there. There were sort of channels on either side so it was cool but if you got stuck on the inside like i did. It seemed like forever till you'd get back out 20 mins of paddling at least. Anyone that says surfers are lazy and laid back cann't be more wrong. No other sport do you put so much effort in and receive so little reward. Take a 3 hr surf session 85-90% of that is paddling 9-14% sitting waiting and 1-2% actual surfing crazy right. Take that 3 hr session and say 20 waves at 3 seconds ride thats only adds up to 1 min of that 3 hrs. I had been thinking about that for a while so any way. I surfed for about 3 hrs or so had some nice right hander and found that shoulder/channel so i was getting good waves and easy paddle outs for a while and i was the only one over there. Occasionally there was one other dude sharing it with me. It was a powerful head high/over head wave but very slopey. It didnt really wall up at all so just lots of big cut backs and speed pumps but it was fun. I had lunch on the beach there watching the surf and then chilled in a wooden lawn chair for a bit. Then Gede and i hit Nasu Dua for a spear fish i had all my gear but i forgot to put the bands back on the gun. Dumbass me so i went for a snorkel. Again saw some big fish but they are very away of me and swim away fast and the current is super fast. It was impossible to stay in one place. I would need a big fast gun to tag any of those fish any way. From here we headed to Ulu Watu to see the Monkey Temple. It was on top of a beautiful cliff absolutely gorgeous. We walked along the path to a point and could look across to the temple it was breath taking. Again there were tons of friendly monkeys here that we could feed. As the sun was setting i saw a Kechak Dance. It was on a dance floor on top of the cliff with the sun setting off in the background. It was amazing. This dance was much cooler but was also like a play with acts. They are pretty hard to follow but this one had a fire ring at the end that was really cool. The sun setting behind would have been amazing but it was a bit cloudy it was still sick though. By the time everything was done and we were back in town it was around 8:30 Gede had put in a 12 hr day or so and i paid him 20 bucks maybe, just to give you an idea of how poor things are here.
Feb11
I had Gede pick me up around 730 to try an surf Seregen early with less people out there. But when we rocked up there were already 40 or so people out and it was maybe knee high, amazing. I sat there and waited for the tide to come it thinking the high tide push would help. I had some Bali coffee and talked to a nice girl, Christina who was with a group of surfers that were in holly/bible school or something in OZ and came to indo to volunteer. Pretty cool girl she works for a zip cord company in Alaska she makes 15/hr and 150 tips for the day, pretty sick. She works from May to September and then goes to Colorado to ride for the winter, good set up. Any way the surf got worse with the tide it got to deep for it to break and the wind picked up a bit so Gede and i headed to Nusa Dua to spear, i brought my bungies today. haha. The tide was high so the current wasnt as bad, again saw a number of fish and shot at tons but that gun is so crap i only got one and he nearly got away. Well he did i had to swim after him and stab him in a hole and pull him out haha and this was after i though i had already killed him. Then one of the bungies came undone so i was done for the day i was gonna give up any way it got so frustrating. The only good thing was i was getting deep and staying down for a while i probably maid it 50 ft and could stay down there for a bit. I was pretty stoked on that. I tried heading back but the tide had switched and water was running out so i wouldnt be able to get back swimming. I went to the beach but because the tide was high i wouldnt be able to walk on the beach because the water was up to cliffs in some points. I saw a guy rod fishing near me and saw what i thought was a climb up to the top so i started up. It was pretty steep and there was a rope there to help, i had to throw my stuff on top and then climb up. As i got to the top it was all over grown with brush, good thing the guy came up right after me and lead the way. We walked through some gate and then i asked him how to get to the temple and he pointed to a path in the woods so i headed out. Along the way there was a well with some guy blessing it i think he joking waved for me to give him my fish i laughed and denied him and asked the way to the temple he pointed around so i carried on again and came to a slight opening with different ways to go luckily i picked the right on the first time and eventually came out on the road and headed back to the temple. Where i gave Gede the fish and we headed back to town. I spent the rest of the day on the internet and calling surf camps to try and set something up for the week. I also caught up on my journal and on this. I managed to book a trip out to Sumbawa everything taken care of transport flight and hotel. I could have probably done it myself cheaper but everything seems hectic and a pain here so i just sucked it up and did the package deal. I am actually staying at an Amani Gani resort i think. For those of you who dont know my friends worked at one in Jackson WY. Its super expensive and nice. $1,000 a night famous/rich people stay there but apparently here its 20-30 a night haha. So im off to pack for my trip. Oh year i got my laundry done today washed dried and ironed for about $1.15 haha sweet huh

Again guys thanks for bearing with my terrible English grammar and please feel free to leave me comments id like to hear what you all think.

Advertisement



16th February 2009

Paragraphs
Terry, Good to hear everything's going well and I like to catch up on your stories when I have some free time. I understand you don't have a lot of time to write and may be on a weird asian keyboard or something but whoa, spelling, grammar, english. Are you sure English was your first language? On behalf of everyone reading this I implore you to at least hit the return key once and a while to break up the paragraphs. Even if it isn't a different section or there is no transition, my eyes hurt just trying to follow it after awhile and you lose your spot. hahaha. Looking forward to hearing more, seeing pictures, and shootin the shit when you get back stateside.

Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0875s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb