3 Days in Amed


Advertisement
Indonesia's flag
Asia » Indonesia » Bali » Amed
October 26th 2013
Published: November 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Leaving Lombok with my return fast boat ticket, I soar through Bali Sea back to Padangbai. In Padangbai I decided I was going to work my way around the coast so my next stay was Amed. I got dropped at the Galang Kangin bungalows, as I had made no reservations, my driver obviously knew they were ok. I went out for a walk and across the black sanded beach, when all of a sudden, "CHARLIE!" was shouted. Ketut, one of the guys I met in Sanur jumps down from a guesthouse and gave me a big hug. I sat with him and a couple of his friends, tried some palm wine (which doesn't smell too good in honesty, but I held my nose) then Ketut took me on his motorbike to a local warung and to his house to meet some of his family and other friends. It was pleasant, we sat on the beach, it was just starting to get dark. Ketut had no other intentions other than befriending me, unlike other local Indonesian guys I had met. He took me back to my bungalow, had a beer and slept.



The following day, I chilled on my porch writing. I had a swim in the afternoon, watched the sunset from lookout point where you could see Mount Agung then went out with my Welsh bungalow neighbour, Ali for some dinner in the evening. We were going to go and watch some live music but unfortunately I started feeling sick. The start of something bad I thought.



I spent my third day ill in bed! I wanted to move onto my next destination, but there was no chance the way I was feeling.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.091s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 41; dbt: 0.0624s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb