Rob in Mamallapuram


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Tamil Nadu » Mamallapuram
February 3rd 2007
Published: February 3rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi all.

I'm in Mamallapuram at the moment, and am feeling very relaxed. Me, Colin, Gemma, Rose and Kim all came down yesterday evening and are staying in a cheap guesthouse that has hammocks on the roof! Last night we sat in a rooftop restraunt/bar that overlooked the beach and played very chilled out music. We must have stayed up until about midnight and then stayed another hour or so in our hammocks, it was a very late night but a good night. Something I'ver learnt is that beer is not cheap ouyt here. A 650ml bottles costs around 1.20, which is really not much of a reduction from U.K. prices, which is surprising.

Anyway, today we got up leisurely and we did a bit of shopping in the morning. I bought a slightly offensive and definetely tourist T-Shirt that will hopefully fend off the rickshaw drivers swarming like vultures (language clean I assure!) I feel a bit rude as they're just trying to make a living out of us, but at the same time they try to rip us off simply because of our skin colour!

Anyway, we spent all afternoon by a swimming pool apart from when we had lunch on the beach. It was so relaxing and when it got too hot (quite often) you could just jump in. My factor 50 sun cream did it's job most of the time too, although I'm a bit pink on my nose and on my cheeks. We all had fun and everthing is a being done at a leisurely pace here. Tongiht we're going back to the rooftop place because we liked it so much, we'll probably repeat the same routine.

As for the camera, I haven't found one im Mamallapuram, and I don't trust Tiruvannamalai to have one. I'll have another look tommorow morning before we leave, but if I can't find one it may have to wait until we next go to Bangalore in March! Or I'll search Tiru head to toe, there must be an electronics shop somewhere. A bit depressing. For now I'll serach around on Facebook and other similar places to find any pictures. I may be able to upload 1 or 2, we'll see.

Hope you're all well.

Rob.

Advertisement



5th February 2007

Rickshaw Drivers
Hi Rob. I remember the Rough Guide said the rickshaw drivers take you all over the place in order to charge more. It recommended making sure you agree the price before you set off and then paying what as agreed. I hope your t-shirt's not too offensive!
5th February 2007

Reading FC
Manchester City 0 Reading 2 on Saturday, with Lita scoring both. The Times commentator says that apart from Arsenal and Man U Reading are playing the best football in the league at the moment.

Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1065s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb