Pushkar


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Pushkar
August 3rd 2010
Published: August 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Pushkar...



Is the most peaceful, sublime place I have ever been to.

The lake reminds me a lot of the Gandgies, their spiritual center. This morning Emma and I went to visit the lake and immediately got told to take our shoes off and follow a man through a barricade of pigeons (which Emma hates). He gave us a handful of pink flowers each and motioned to for us to sit on the steps beside him. He asked us to repeat a series of Hindi prayers and put bindhi spots on our foreheads. After inquiring about families and boyfriends ect he said a prayer for us to repeat for each member of our respective households. We were to splash water on our eyes, ears and heads and then throw the flowers into the lake.

Yesterday we arrived about 3pm and went in search of a place to stay. The first place we chose sounded pleasant enough from the Lonely Planet called 'Lake View'. If you are ever in Pushkar do not stay there. The man who seemed to run the place took us upstairs into what he called his 'office' but seemed more like his bedroom. Without having to show our passports or sign in he showed Emma and I a bedroom on the second floor which on the most part resembled a prison cell. he was asking for Rs 400 which is more than Nick and I had paid in Delhi. We left in a hurry to say the least. We found Hotel Everest which is a little more expensive but with bright rooms, a comfy bed and a nice bathroom. But the food... Euuuurrgh. Thinking we would give our poor stomachs a rest from Indian cuisine we thought it would be safe to order two cheese macaronis. WRONG. Never in my life have I eaten something caked in so much salt, pepper and grease. I managed to eat mine but Emma ordered chips instead. I suppose when it's less than a pound per meal you can afford to do that. It's a trend I've noticed everywhere in India so far, heaps of salt or heaps of sugar that would give even England's most obese a run for their money. Just too sweet for me. I am however a big fan of CHAI!! (Indian tea).

Other than the lake and lots of temples there is not a lot to do here besides shopping... Shopping, shopping, shopping. I want to buy everything! But unfortunately, fund forbid this 😞 and am planning to leave such adventures until the end of the trip.

Going to try a different restaurant tonight and will hopefully have more luck. Could really do with some English fish and chips!

Later x

Advertisement



4th August 2010

Vegetable Curry?
I imagined there would be freshly cooked curry made from local Veg? I also thought goat meat would be available and loads of rice dishes? Do they have fruit? It seems a shame you have to come home early as there seems a lot more to see. YDOM x
5th August 2010

info
Try the No Where in Desert - They have great food. I just came back from Pushkar and i think these guys have best food. You can log on to www.thepushkarindia.com or write me at roshan@ulltimate.in for details. Regards Roshan
10th August 2010

Pushkar hotels
If u want came pushkar and u have problem of hotels. So plz open this site...............>> http://www.pushkarhotels.org

Tot: 0.132s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb