Do.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
February 4th 2009
Published: February 4th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well its been a few days since my last blog entry, and I've been pretty busy, trying (and failing) to haggle with numerous stall holders in lovely Jaisalmer. I managed to buy myself a scarf which you will see when I've got some more time to upload some pics. and generally had good times mixing with the locals and eating lovely Indian cuisine!
Yesterday we went on our camel safari, which was great. bloomin painful, I'm not sure any of us managed to get tyhrough the experience without bruises...especially the guys, i'm sure you can imagine what i'm on about. We spent the evening on the "golden sand dunes" after 2 hours on the camels. My one was called "Molar" and was leader of the pack. Not the most patient of creatures, as soon as he felt the weight of me on his back, he was up and away, at which point i nearly ended up back on the ground, but I lived to tell the tale :-) But yeah, Molar liked to be in front of everyone and with my trusty hat, on my trusty steed, we made it to the camp first.
The sunset there was beautiful and we
OhmOhmOhm

Me in Jain Temple
had some great great foood and some traditional Indian music as well... Here's an extract from my diary:
"I write this sat at the top of a golden sand dune in the Thar Desert. There is a light breeze but surprisingly not as cold as we were all expecting (N.B this changed dramatically in the middle of the night, freeeezing!). We came by camel (chafe chafe chafe) and tomorrow we safari back to the hotel before moving on to jodhpur. We had amazing but spicy curry after watching some Ragistani musicians and I showed everyone my poi skills. The camel driver now wants me to live here! "Everybody love Raju" (did i mention my new Hindi name is Raju?) Perhaps I should give up Chuff and become Raju? It's nice to sit and take stock of all that's been going on the last few days - I think I can get used to this travelling thing. Everyone is in bed before me again, aparently people do have normal sleeping patterns! I barganed today, but perhaps got ripped off, One day I'll get the hang of it!"

Today we camel safari'd back to Jaisalmer and then got a public bus
SunsettingSunsettingSunsetting

silhouettes
for 6 hours to Jodhpur. Tomorrow we go to see the fort, will let you know what I think!



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sunset at Sand DunesSunset at Sand Dunes
Sunset at Sand Dunes

Does what it says on the tin
Raju on CamelRaju on Camel
Raju on Camel

Called Molar - King of the Pack
Others on CamelsOthers on Camels
Others on Camels

Slooow coaches


4th February 2009

Very nice lotus you're doing there. My yoga teacher would be proud of you. Great to see the hat coming in use too! Here in England we have SNOW. Well actually, Oxford got a bit of a pathetic covering, but heavy snow forecast for the next two days. Obviously the country is in chaos! Thinking of you and my mum and sister all in hot parts of the world, hmmm, must be nice. though snow is exciting too. Love love xxxxx
4th February 2009

Hi!
You look as though you have been riding camels all your life!
5th February 2009

one hump or two?
With a name like Molar I bet that camel's got some teeth on him so don't go near his gob! The Black Eyed Peas have got nothing on you...try singing to ease the pain..."my humps, my humps, my little boyish bumps"! All character building stuff..Think Lawrence of Arabia...Next time I wanna see ya in a turban! V impressed with you in the Lotus Position...Glad Molar hasn't totally afflicted your posture and worth setting up a yoga circle so I can fully assess your position....Loving the pics....X
6th February 2009

Born leader of camels!
Great blog and pics. Did you check out what Raju means? xx
7th February 2009

Pete...I am very jealous at this moment in time! It looks like you are having an amazing time and you've only been there a week! Enjoy it!!! xx
8th February 2009

camel time!
Great to see that you're having such a lot of fun times, and i'm glad you were able to show off with the poi too! Photos are beautiful, as are you, take care and ENJOY! xxx
12th February 2009

India looks amazing Chuff!!! I am so jealous right now. keep riding those camels and stay safe. Much love.xxx
18th February 2009

Raju means...
Everyone's friend, i Think. I try....
18th February 2009

it pretty much is amazing
will try very hard to keep safe :-)

Tot: 0.181s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.149s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb