GURUS everywhere


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Rajasthan » Jodhpur
October 18th 2005
Published: October 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

first photofirst photofirst photo

face on a newspaper
On the plane to India from Hong Kong, there were these wise looking old guys in white or gray beards and turbans, who looked like Gurus fresh off the guru-circut in the West. I wondered who one of them was, and saw he was wearing a Guess jacket with a huge GUESS on the back.

Then when I got off the plane and went through customs, I saw there were a lot of these guys with turbans, lots and lots. I said to myself, There's not just one Guru here, there are Guru's everywhere.

Here is my first photo in India. I don't know if the guy reading the paper is a Guru. And here is about my second photo in India. The guy looks like a Guru but is a doorman at the Taj Palace, the hotel where the tour is staying in New Delhi.

(Hope these upload)

I guess the doorman can be a Guru as well as anyone else here.




Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement

second photosecond photo
second photo

Doorman Guru


21st October 2005

A Little Tip on Indian Culture
I must admit that at first I was a little disturbed by your comments. I however must give concessions since you must be new to India. As a native Indian, I would like you learn a little about Indian Culture. The Gurus you were talking about are known as Sikhs as they follow a religion called Sikhism. The Sikh men are bound by religious covenant to sport beards and long hair which must be covered by a turban. I believe the Gurus of the West wear Turbans to give it an Indian touch and to garner clientele. The Gurus (or teachers) in India have no such obligation and may wear whatever they choose, even a suit and tie if they fancy. India is a land of many races and languages. Each state in India has its own official language. It is not uncommon to find villages just a few KM apart but having their own customs and dialects. Hope you enjoy your stay in India.
22nd October 2005

Guru
Or maybe they just all wear Guru hats to confuse tourists?

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb