Rishikesh the Yoga capital!


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » New Delhi » Dwarka
February 24th 2012
Published: February 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

A view of the Ganga from the walking brigde.A view of the Ganga from the walking brigde.A view of the Ganga from the walking brigde.

I walk across this bridge many times a day. It is so beautiful and the wind blows my scarf as I walk.
Hey everyone!

I'm in Rishekesh. It's such an amazing place! The journey to get here was an interesting one. When I finally got to Dehra Dun I was picked up by a taxi (organised by the Ashram) and was charged a very exensive fare and on top of this they charged me for the trouble they had gone to to pick me up the day before when I was still in Delhi. I figure that nothing else can go against me for a while.

Now that i am here nothing is troubling me. It is the most beautiful place. Beautiful people, the Ganga and amazing Yoga and meditation classes.

I have made 2 really beautiful friends from Brazil and I have been hanging out with them the last few days. Renata is from Rio and Louis is from an Island off Brazil. They are so much like me and love life as much as I do!!!

In no particular order I will recap my last 4 days!

Every day at 5.30pm I go down to the Ganga for Arti (A chanting ceremony with all the monks and Swami's). We chant and watch the sun go down
Ganga Magic WaterGanga Magic WaterGanga Magic Water

This is me in my pj's as I didn't have anything else appropriate to wear in the water. The water is so cold as it is coming from the mountains.
and send bowls (made out of banana skin which contain flowers and incence) floating out to sea. It is such a beautiful time of the day! My favourite.

I go to a lecture at around 6.30pm with Swami where he answers many questions people have about life. So interesting.

I have swam in the Ganga and will continue to as the weather in the middle of the day is hot! Traditionally you dunk yourself 3 times everyday in the water and it removes all your bad Karma (sins). I am squeekie clean! The water where we are looks very clean as we are very close to the mountains. I still close my ears, eyes and mouth.

I have attended many Hatha and Ashtanga classes. My favourite is the Ashtanga Vinyasa class. This class is very fast, powerful and the instructor giggles when he watches me attempt all the tricky arm balances and back bends. (Bess & Di you would love this class). His giggle is so sincere but he really believes that what he is asking me to do is a very normal request.

I played guitar on the Ganga at sunset last night. A Funny story. I saw these guys sitting by the river and went over and said "could you play something for me?" The young man was shy and said yes. He started playing and singing in Hindi. It sounded very strange but I just thought that that was his style. After he finished he confessed that he had never played the guitar ever before and that he was just minding it for a friend. He said he didn't want to disappoint me and he wanted to see me smiling so he tried to play for me. This is just an example of how friendly and loving the people I am meeting in this magical place are. I then played Tracey Chapman. He was very impressed. (of course he was. He doesn't play)

At the ashram where I am staying it is peaceful and yet crazy at the same time! There is so much going on and there is a grandfather clock that keeps the time for everyone. There is chanting at 4am every morning for anbout 2 hours and it is so loud that I now go and join in or I sit up in bed and read my book. The
Arti by the Ganga at sunsetArti by the Ganga at sunsetArti by the Ganga at sunset

This is my favourite time of the day!
drums are amazing too.

I have had music lessons. I am learing to play the Tabla (drums). The teacher is so lovely and he said I can now come any time to practice what I have learnt so far.

Well that's about all so far. Oh have booked a rafting trip for Sunday with my new Brazialian friends. I'm really looking forwart to it.

Well I am off now to go and pracrice tabla.

Love to everyone!

Jo 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0702s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb