Delhi


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » National Capital Territory » Delhi
October 6th 2008
Published: October 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After a hassle free flight I’m dropped off at a pleasant hotel in New Delhi where I have the following 24hrs alone before meeting up with the group I’m spending the next 2 weeks with.

The half hour journey from the airport already gives me a glimpse of what’s to come and my bodies pumping with adrenaline. The vast number of people and cars roaming the streets in the most chaotic manor, horns honking for no particular reason so load my ears feel as if there about to drop off. The people and buildings have so much character and the colours beaming from women’s saris, fruit & spice stalls and the vast numbers of markets is so eye catching. The midday heat is unbelievable and immediately drains you of any energy that still remains.

It seems as though I’m the first to arrive from the group so I eventually pluck up the courage to venture out onto the busy streets alone. Immediately I feel as though there’s a hundred eyes watching my every move. As fascinated as I am by the vast change in culture, they too are intrigued by my light skin and curly hair.

I’m hugely aware the dollar signs that instantly twinkle in their eyes as they see a potential westerner they presume has large sums of money to be spend. Rickshore’s & Tuk Tuk drivers descend at once wowing me to take a ride to the local market. Stall sellers beckon me to their shops and beggars tug at my sleeves for small change.

After only a few blocks I decide I’ve had enough for the day. I head back to the hotel and exhausted from the past few emotional days I collapse on my bed and pass out for an unusually long sleep.

Advertisement



9th November 2008

your description of crazy traffic and horns honking for no reason reminds me of the towns i've been to in peru...thanks for keeping us up to date with your travels...it's good to hear you're well and happy...take care little han...love from the land of cheese

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb