Feeling a bit better now


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Pune
February 26th 2007
Published: February 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I haven't updated in a little while, it was rough the middle of last week. I'm going to

leave it just saying Wednesday and Thursday I was close to death. OK, maybe not death,

but it is worse than any hangover or flu I've ever had. On the upside, I got to drink straight

up mango juice today and it is freakin delicious. I don't feel so bad though, everyone here has

their bout with the plague.



So, what has exactly been going on over here? Training for the most part. We have been going

to dinner on the weeknights for the most part, but have been slowing down on the dinners b/c

of everyone dealing with the plague. Speaking of training, it's still going very well. I am getting a lot

accomplished even though everything I need is not really available.



Friday night we went to a hooka lounge. It was a good time. For those of you concern about drug use

with those things; it is just as illegal, if not more, over here, and you can get into big trouble. So no

worries, Mom. We were originally going to go to ZK's, some Cricket god in this country, bar, but there

was a private party going on, so we moved to the hooka place. By the way, the hooka place was a

nice setup, very cool inside.



Saturday was really fun. We speant the morning by the pool. Sorry kiddies, I know it's like 30 degrees

give or take over there, but I can't help it being 90 and beautiful at like 11am. Enough of my gloating.

We ended up going to 'Signature'. Our tour guide and supervisor from the office, Vasan, was nice enough

to take us to his favorite seafood restaurant. The food was great, we ate shrimp, a fish dish, and a crab.

A feast fit for... well us.



Saturday night we volunteered to go to the EDS Symphony. This was like no sympony I've ever see. Not because

it was Indian and foreign, but it just wasn't a symphony. It was more like what we would call talent shows in the

States. Needless to say it was corney, but a lovable corney. Come on, what talent show isn't corney? It would have

been a lot better if we understood what the heck people were singing and saying, but it was nice, none the less.

We then met back up with Vasan, who was already at a rock/metal bar called 'The Den'. This place was awesome.

The place held about 20 people, filled with chains, metal work, and a few stuffed animal heads on the wall. There were

also swords and a crossbow mounted on the wall. Once I heard the DJ play Black Sabbath, I knew it was my kind of place.

I thoroughly enjoyed.



Sunday I golfed. Yep.. me. I think I've been making fun of golf since my grandma used to watch it when she would visit in

summer time. Yeah, it was difficult, but not impossible. I'll tell you I wasn't Happy Gilmore or anything, but I did pretty well for

not having stepped on a course ever. It was a nice walk. My caddie was awesome, I probably owe him money for lessons.

But I had a really good time.



That's about all for now. No monkeys yet by theway... still depressed about that. Talk to you all very soon.




Advertisement



2nd March 2007

Just saying Hi
Hey, Anthony (and your fellow WOO EDSers). Thought I'd bring a little "South Philly" back into your life, so here it is: "WAZZ UP?" Sounds like your EDS life there is better than ours here! We're jealous. Take care and we'll see you soon.
5th March 2007

Just sayin' 'Hey!'
Hi Anthony! Just wanted to say hi and hope you are doing well! Sounds like you are having a pretty good time....I hope that continues! I am eagerly waiting for the next blog installment! Take care! :-)
6th March 2007

Bring me home a monkey!
6th March 2007

Pansy
There for a week or so and you get sick? Seriously, weak. Sounds like a lot of fun though. Glad you are getting to enjoy your time as much as "work". Have you got a chance to hit up any big city bazaar or anything? That is where you'll get into the culture. Don't take money though. Well enjoy the warm weather, sweet 100% fresh mango and try to get some mishty. Sounds like (mish-tea). Pretty much cream and sugar dessert balls. Take a while to get used to how sweet they are but they are delicious. Talk to you later.
6th March 2007

Hi!
Doesn't sound like much work is getting done! Good for you.
6th March 2007

Re: James
Yeah James, less than a week and I get sick. I narrowed it down to the malaria medicine, mostly cause I forgot to take it one day, and I felt great. I checked out a bazaar today, it was good times.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 9; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0523s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb