Journey of a million miles begins with just one step...


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Pune
February 19th 2007
Published: February 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

No one said ours was going to be into 10 dgeree temperatures with wind and traffic in our faces.

We happened to mix up our gate, rather than being dropped off at Gate 2, we proceeded to 3, and

ended up walking about 4 city blocks in in the freezing cold weaving our way through traffic to

our correct gate. But enough of my complaining; we got to ride in business class.



This also gave us access to the business lounge, which ... well it wasn't much to look at, but

we got free drinks out of it. Pat and I took the liberty of being snobbish with our business

"elite" status. Pushing commoners out of the way, scoffing at the peons who had to sit in coach.

Ok, so we weren't that bad, but it was fun to pretending to be much more important than we were.

The flight was delayed a total of about 3 hours. Between the plane arriving late and the baggage

taking forever to load, I think we waited on the plane an extra 45 mins. I wouldn't really know

because I fell asleep before it took off at about 12am.



Business class has spoiled me forever. I don't think I could fly coach again. We were waited on

pretty much hand and foot. And the reclining chairs paid great dividends. I think I slept about

8 hours of the 14 hour flight.



We finally landed about 12am Indian time. This is where culture smacked me across the face.

Once we finally made it out of customs, about 1am, we left the airport. We were greated by about

a thousand people with signs for their passengers. Thankfully our driver found us as soon as we

came out, because there was no way in hell I was going to find him. As soon as we moved passed

the crowd we were greated by another, these were beggers. They grabbed at our luggage to carry

it to our car for us, hoping for a handout.



We were finally on our way to our hotel. It took about a 4 hour drive. We stopped momentarily

at something of a rest stop. It was about 3am, and busy as ever. There were a ton of people

there, talking and taking breaks. I liken their driving to that of Italy, very crazy, well fun

I should say. I would have liked to drive. I also probably would have had the same understanding

of directions as our driver. We're pretty sure he got really lost.



Finally arriving at the hotel at about 5:30am, we find that they only had 3 of our 4 rooms open.

This was no real big deal. We moved my stuff in to Brian's room for the time being and set about

trying to call home. After about an hour we are finally able to figure it out between the night

clerk's dialing and miscommunication of languages. And this point we're all cranky and hating the

rooms for their lack of internet access, availablity to dial out of our room phones, and paint

peeling walls, to go to the gym. This happens to be closed because it is Sunday. Thoroughly

annoyed now, we wait a bit and go to breakfast. This calmed us all down and gave us a minute

to realize how nice the hotel grounds are.



Everyone took naps during the day, except for me, I spent a good bit of it walking around, stoping

into the business center, and talking with the staff. Everyone here is extrordinarily friendly.



Mayur arrived this evening, just after dinner. We all appear to be pretty tired, and head to

bed after some really good food and conversation. I suspect by the time I get back to America

I will be able to tackle nuclear flavored chicken wings. My laptop was not finding drivers for

my camera, so I'm hoping once it is hooked up in the office I will be able to at least download

drivers and add pictures. I miss my Mac. I will also try and add this very soon followed by a

detail of my first day of training.



Talk to you all soon.

Advertisement



21st February 2007

Good Job
Hey dude, it's good to hear you made it over. Sounds like you are enjoying your time... Keep posting... Palmquist

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb