Does someone have a towel? I think we just hit a water buffalo.


Advertisement
India's flag
Asia » India » Maharashtra » Pune
March 6th 2007
Published: March 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sorry I haven't updated in a while, this weekend was a bit crazy and I wasn't in my room much except to sleep.

We finally have a room with internet connection in it, so I will be updating more frequently from here on out.



I'll pretty much be updating you on small things that happen during the week, but mostly the weekend. All I do during

the week is teach, and hang out in the office before a nice dinner and bed. Not as thrilling as one would imagine for

being in India. But, I'm here to train, not to be a roving reporter; so on to my update!



After seeing how crazy the traffic was here, I had to question why I never saw an accident, then it hit me. Quite litterally

actually. Well not me, but out car. We were stopped in traffic then bump, and I do mean bump. We got rear ended. It wasn't

so bad. I think I've hit people worse while parallel parking in the city. Oddly enough later the next day I also saw a semi which

had collided with a bus. It looked like minimal damage. No worries, I haven't seen anything deadly looking yet. But I think that's

also because the top speed in the city is like 20 miles an hour with all the craziness. We nearly hit a goat as well. His friend ran

out in front of us and he couldn't make up his mind if he wanted to commit suicide or not... kindda like Britney... ooo! cheap shot!

I'm still waiting for us to slam into an animal of some sort, cows, oxen, buffalo, goats... you name it, it'll play in traffic. No monkeys

No random stray monkeys yet, though, I'm kind of upset about that. I heard one tried to steal Dave Daywalt's soda. Lucky!



Speaking of animals walking all over the place, we got to ride an elephant on Saturday. Pictures to come. We were driving to the

snake zoo, on a street very much like Passeyunk (in Philly) or Burnt Mill (in NJ), and low and behold an elephant was strolling

down the street. We had our driver pull over immediately, after talking the owner of the pacaderm down to 100 rupes a piece

(about 2 dollars) we got on the elephant. How might one get on an elephant in the middle of a busy intersection? Have her bend

down of course! You can't really pull an elephant over. I have to say for as awesome of an experience as it was, I really felt bad

for the elephant. Poor girl. She liked us though, and I'm sure we felt like flies on her back. We got to pet her a bit before we went

on our way.



On to the snake park!! We get there and it has a lake in the middle of it, so we rent a paddle boat and go out on the lake for

was supposed to be 45min, ended up being about 1 and a half hours. After we broke free of the lilly pads, in the middle of

the lake, Charissa and I took a nap. Best nap I've had since Mat had that hammock on the balcony. My arm kindda fell in the

water, which woke me up right quick. Nothing like the thought of falling into a random lake to get you up.



We then met our driver and walked through the park. Saw some cobras, vipers and other snakes. They kindda just layed there.
Nothing much, so we leave to meet up with the others who had been golfing. We had some time to kill, so we stop at a local pub.
It basically opened up only for us. It's nice having Vasan as a tour guide. He seems to know everyone. After a refreshing drink, we

leave for the bowling alley. Yes. Bowling.



I ended up taking a haneous spill on my first ball..My bowling shoes slipped at the end of the lane. By bowling shoes, I mean feet.
I had left my socks on... bad idea. I did much better when I took my socks off. The night continued on to Thousand Oaks, which
had no oaks on the premisis. We enjoyed some drinks and dancing. Good times were had by all, and we made our way home.



Sunday was Holi, the celebration of colors. This is for celebrating spring and the harvest. I decided to not join in on the whole color

thing. I heard for the most part kids will use a dye which is similar to the dye packs that explode in stolen money, and we all know

that does not come off easily. One of my staff members still looks like a pistacio. Quite hillarious. It was fun to watch.



Being a slow day with not much to do we headed back to the bowling alley. We decided to bet 2 dollars each on each game.

ended up having the best game I've ever bowled, in bare feet none the less, and won the first game. Tiff edged me out in the

second game. I bowled excellently then as well. We made our way to a dinner/snacks with our new winnings. The older folk went

home and us kids, (Tiff, Charissa, Vasan, and I) went off to The Den, that rock/metal bar, for night caps. We had a great time and

made our way home.



That's all I have for now. It's like 11pm here, and my meds are kicking in. If you ever come to India and need anti-malaria pills, get

the once a week perscription. This everyday one is killing me, but I guess it's better than actually getting malaria.




Advertisement



19th March 2007

Good Stuff
Sounds like a lot of fun Anthony. Good thing to record everything so you don't forget the little things, which always turn out to be the most fun to hear about. Glad you able to get away for the office for a little bit. Keep up the stories.

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb